Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Other Categories in Performing Arts

Guitar I: Absolute Beginners

at New York City Guitar School - Chelsea

(45)
Course Details
Price:
$349 2 seats left
Start Date:

Thu, Jul 18, 7:30pm - Sep 26, 8:30pm (11 sessions)

Next start dates (11)

Location:
Chelsea, Manhattan
251 W 30th St 7th Fl
Btwn 7th & 8th Avenues
New York, New York 10001
(Map)
Share:
Important:
Only for 10 sessions. Days with no classes will still be announced.
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 5
Teacher: Emilio

What you'll learn in this guitar class:

Learn the fundamental habits of a superior guitar player and master the basic chords, strums, and understanding to prepare for further study in all styles of guitar.

Learn to play great songs by artists such as Coldplay, Jason Mraz, Guns 'n' Roses, The Beatles, Green Day, Ed Sheeran, Paramore, and more with confidence and competence.

Absolutely no prior musical experience needed. No note reading required.

Note: All materials provided. Guitars available for use in the classroom.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
You can cancel your registration any time before the first class for a one hundred percent refund or credit. You can withdraw from a class at any time after it begins by notifying us for a one hundred percent credit (not a refund) for future sessions which are scheduled after your drop date. You can use that credit towards any other class session. Please note that you can't get credit for sessions which ran before you contacted us, so call early.

MAKE-UP POLICY:

There are three great options to go over missed materials. First, every student gets free lifetime access to hundreds of video tutorials and practice sessions, so you can simply take the online version of the session you missed. Secondly, you can drop in on the same session of a different section of your class--for free. Finally, we offer discounted private make-up lessons for students who want to go over their missed class one-on-one. To book a make-up group class or private lesson, please contact New York City Guitar School.

Map

Google Map

New York City Guitar School

All classes at this location

Start Dates (12)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio 11 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Jul 25 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Aug 01 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Aug 08 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Aug 15 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Aug 22 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Aug 29 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Sep 05 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Sep 12 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Sep 19 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
Thu, Sep 26 7:30pm - 8:30pm Emilio
8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac 11 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Aug 08 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Aug 15 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Aug 22 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Aug 29 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Sep 05 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Sep 12 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Sep 19 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Sep 26 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Oct 03 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
Thu, Oct 10 8:00pm - 9:00pm Issac
7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Aug 12 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
Mon, Aug 19 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
Mon, Aug 26 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
Mon, Sep 09 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
Mon, Sep 16 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
Mon, Sep 23 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
Mon, Sep 30 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
Mon, Oct 07 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
Mon, Oct 21 7:00pm - 8:00pm Austin
2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M 11 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Aug 17 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Aug 24 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Aug 31 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Sep 07 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Sep 14 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Sep 21 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Sep 28 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Oct 05 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Oct 12 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
Sat, Oct 19 2:00pm - 3:00pm Jeff M
1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy - 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Sep 14 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Sat, Sep 21 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Sat, Sep 28 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Sat, Oct 05 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Sat, Oct 12 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Sat, Oct 19 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Sat, Oct 26 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Sat, Nov 02 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Sat, Nov 09 1:00pm - 2:00pm Eddy -
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Sep 16 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
Mon, Sep 23 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
Mon, Sep 30 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
Mon, Oct 07 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
Mon, Oct 14 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
Mon, Oct 21 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
Mon, Oct 28 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
Mon, Nov 04 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
Mon, Nov 11 5:30pm - 6:30pm Shirley
7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Sep 16 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Sep 23 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Sep 30 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Oct 07 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Oct 14 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Oct 21 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Oct 28 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Nov 04 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Nov 11 7:00pm - 8:00pm Sam Allen
8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Sep 16 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Sep 23 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Sep 30 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Oct 07 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Oct 14 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Oct 21 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Oct 28 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Nov 04 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
Mon, Nov 11 8:00pm - 9:00pm Sam Allen
7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Sep 17 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
Tue, Sep 24 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
Tue, Oct 01 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
Tue, Oct 08 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
Tue, Oct 15 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
Tue, Oct 22 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
Tue, Oct 29 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
Tue, Nov 05 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
Tue, Nov 12 7:30pm - 8:30pm Shane Chapman
8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Sep 18 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Wed, Sep 25 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Wed, Oct 02 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Wed, Oct 09 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Wed, Oct 16 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Wed, Oct 23 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Wed, Oct 30 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Wed, Nov 06 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Wed, Nov 13 8:30pm - 9:30pm Aki Ishiguro
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Fri, Sep 20 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
Fri, Sep 27 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
Fri, Oct 04 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
Fri, Oct 11 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
Fri, Oct 18 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
Fri, Oct 25 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
Fri, Nov 01 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
Fri, Nov 08 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
Fri, Nov 15 6:00pm - 7:00pm Alec
6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis 10 $349
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Sep 25 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis
Wed, Oct 02 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis
Wed, Oct 09 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis
Wed, Oct 16 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis
Wed, Oct 23 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis
Wed, Oct 30 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis
Wed, Nov 06 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis
Wed, Nov 13 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis
Wed, Nov 20 6:30pm - 7:30pm Curtis

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 3490 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (4)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Question from Bob l.
Hi. I have played guitar before but it has been a long time.I would like to learn the basics and would enjoy playing with other people. It sounds like I could learn a lot from this class. What do you think? Bob
Answer from Georgia C. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi Bob! This is a good refresher course for your guitar skills.
Answer
Cancel
Question from Virginia E.
Hello, I just signed up for a beginner guitar course and realized that I won’t be able to make the first class. My question is: should I cancel all of the sessions and try to find a better fit? Or is it possible to sit in on another *first* class to make it up? Thank you for your time! Warmly Virginia
Answer from Jenn C. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi Virginia! There are three great options to go over missed materials. First, every student gets free lifetime access to hundreds of video tutorials and practice sessions, so you can simply take the online version of the session you missed. Secondly, you can drop in on the same session of a different section of your class--for free. Finally, the school offers discounted private make-up lessons for students who want to go over their missed class one-on-one. To book a make-up group class or private lesson, please let us know and we'll be glad to help set you up with the school!
Answer
Cancel
Question from Caitlin C.
Do I need to purchase a guitar before the first class?
Answer from Kristle C. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi Caitlin! If you'd like to bring your own guitar, you're welcome to do so. Otherwise, guitars available for use in the classroom. Hope that helps!
Answer
Cancel
Question from Anonymous
Hi, I see just the start dates. Can we know in advance what are all the other 10/11 dates? Would it be every week the same date and the same time for 10/11 weeks?
Answer from Brenda L. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi there! Just above this question, you'll see a red bar. All you need to do is click the red bar that says, "This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions" and the dates will drop down. You can select which date you'd like to check. I hope this helps!
Answer from Roberta R. Verified Student
I'm looking for the Thursday night Feb. 22nd start date for Guitar 3/intermediate beginner class with Dylan at 7pm for 10 weeks. I'd like to join to continue my studies. I don't see it on your site. Please advise.
Answer from Billy C. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hello Roberta, Please follow the link below for the Guitar 3 Class. https://coursehorse.com/nyc/classes/performing-arts/music/guitar/guitar-iii-guitar-for-intermediate-beginners
Show all 3 answers
Answer
Cancel

Reviews of Classes at New York City Guitar School (45)

(45 Reviews)
Guitar I: Absolute Beginners
Reviewed by Alexis T. on 4/25/2019
Vincent aka Vinnie’s class is the best! It’s the perfect class if you’ve wanted to play guitar but didn’t know where to start and want some accountability. It’s a very inviting space - you’ll want to make sure to rent or have a guitar at home to practice. It makes a world of difference when you really do practice 10-15 minutes even just a couple times a week.
Guitar I: Absolute Beginners
Reviewed by sara k. on 3/14/2019
Wish I’d done it sooner!
Guitar I: Absolute Beginners
Reviewed by Kate B. on 2/27/2019
Excellent class...!! I can finally play a guitar, after years of trying by myself here and there, which got me nowhere, but with this class I feel the confidence that I can play. Issac was an excellent teacher and the pace was totally manageable for working professionals. I highly recommend this class.
Guitar I: Absolute Beginners
Reviewed by Anonymous on 2/3/2018
I can’t believe how much I already know after just 10 weeks!
Guitar I: Absolute Beginners
Reviewed by Juan R. on 3/30/2017
Great class structure, great online resources and Shane Chapman is a wonderful teacher!
loading...
loading...
Similar Classes

School: New York City Guitar School

New York City Guitar School

Our teachers and staff are united in a desire to be a Great Guitar School - one with spectacular lessons and classes and outstanding service. 

We want every student, guest and teacher to leave our school strengthened in mind and spirit, and more able to rock!

If you love guitar, you will love how...

Read more about New York City Guitar School

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free.
Loading...