Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.
Course Details
Price:
$719 6 seats left
Start Date:

Thu, Oct 01, 11:30am - Dec 10, 1:30pm Eastern Time (20 sessions)

Next start dates (1)

Important:
Price includes a one-time $20 registration fee.
No class on November 26
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: Intermediate
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 10

What you'll learn in this english pronunciation class:

This higher-level pronunciation course is designed to help students sound more like native speakers of American English. 

Techniques include physical and vocal warm-up and breathing exercises, along with work on pronunciation, articulation, intonation, stress and vocal projection. Students develop short oral presentations to enhance their speech. 

Pre-requisites: Students need to be in levels 5-10 to take this course. An ESL Placement Test score is required for all new students registering for this course. If you have not taken ESL classes or a Placement Test with CAPS in the past year, register for the test by emailing [email protected]


Remote Learning

This course is available for "remote" learning and will be available to anyone with access to an internet device with a microphone (this includes most models of computers, tablets). Classes will take place with a "Live" instructor at the date/times listed below.

Upon registration, the instructor will send along additional information about how to log-on and participate in the class.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
Students MUST submit a detailed written request to withdraw from a course, which CourseHorse will then forward on to the school. The request must state the reason of cancellation.

Refunds or credits are available: Full refund or credit if request to withdraw is made 3 business days before the first class session. 50% refund or credit if request to withdraw is made before the second class session. After the second class session no refunds or credits will be granted.

No refunds or credits will be issued for classes that meet four sessions or fewer. Classes include seminars, intensives and workshops.

All refunds will have a $25 processing fee deducted from the course refund as well as a $20 registration fee ($45 total).

When Baruch College cancels a course, refunds are made automatically. If for any reason the department cancels a session, then a make-up session will be offered.

COURSE WITHDRAWALS 

Students who wish to withdraw from a course must notify the CAPS Office in writing. Failure to complete a course, ceasing to attend class, notifying the instructor of your desire to withdraw, or general dissatisfaction with a course does not constitute a withdrawal and does not entitle you to a refund. Instructors are not permitted OR able to process withdrawals, transfers or refunds.

MAKE-UP POLICY

If a student misses a session, the department unfortunately does not authorize the student to make up that missed session in another section. If the instructor informs the student to visit another section of his class, then that is between the student and the instructor. 
Start Dates (2)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD 20 $719
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Oct 06 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Oct 08 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Oct 13 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Oct 15 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Oct 20 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Oct 22 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Oct 27 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Oct 29 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Nov 03 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Nov 05 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Nov 10 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Nov 12 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Nov 17 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Nov 19 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Nov 24 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Dec 01 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Dec 03 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Tue, Dec 08 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
Thu, Dec 10 11:30am - 1:30pm Eastern Time TBD
6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD 20 $719
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Oct 07 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Oct 14 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Oct 19 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Oct 21 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Oct 26 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Oct 28 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Nov 02 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Nov 04 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Nov 09 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Nov 16 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Nov 18 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Nov 23 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Nov 25 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Nov 30 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Dec 02 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Dec 07 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Dec 09 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Mon, Dec 14 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD
Wed, Dec 16 6:15pm - 8:15pm Eastern Time TBD

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 7190 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (2)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Question from anonymous
Hi, I'd like to enroll in your Pronunciation class starting tomorrow. I'm Advance level C1 certified by Cambridge University. I haven't taken the ESL test. Am I eligible for this certification?
Answer from Brenda L. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi there! If a student completed a US bachelor’s degree or higher, then the placement test can be waived. Anyone else must take the placement test. Hope this is helpful.
Answer
Cancel
Question from SUZIE K.
What is the difference between this and American English pronunciation? just sessions?? Does it same contents?
Answer from Brenda L. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hello, Suzie! If you are interested in a Pronunciation course, you must register for the general Pronunciation course as American English Pronunciation is only open to Zicklin graduate students. Hope this helps!
Answer
Cancel

Reviews of Classes at Baruch College - CAPS (324)

(324 Reviews)
Pronunciation
Reviewed by Anonymous on 6/16/2019
The class was not what I expected. Wished it were more advanced class. Useful mouth exercise was given and that has been very helpful.
loading...
Similar Classes

School: Baruch College - CAPS

Baruch College - CAPS

We are now celebrating our 32nd anniversary in providing quality courses, certificates and services to our community. Established in 1978 to serve the New York and international communities with high-quality, professional education and training, Baruch College's Division of Continuing and Professional...

Read more about Baruch College - CAPS

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Booking this class for a group? Find great private group events here
Loading...