Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

German - Level 1

at Fluent City - Flatiron

(106)
Course Details
Price:
$399 15 seats left
Start Date:

Wed, Feb 26, 7:00pm - Apr 29, 9:00pm (10 sessions)

Next start dates (3)

Location:
Flatiron, Manhattan
330 5th Ave 7th Fl
Btwn W 32nd & W 33rd Streets
New York, New York 10001
(Map)
Book at Office/Home
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 17 and older
Average Class Size: 10
Teacher: Alexander Goetze

What you'll learn in this basic german class:

We get it, you don’t know anything more than "wienerschnitzel” and “bratwurst,” or maybe you’ve taken a decade off. Either way, you’re ready for that all to change with German 1. This class is perfect for you if you're completely new to the language and want to get the basics down to start speaking conversational German.

Taught in English. Level 1 is for students who don’t have a clue about German and for those who maybe took a little bit of German in high school but let’s be honest, you were passing notes. If you can struggle through saying things like: I am American, I study French, I like football, and I have a dog, then you should check the Level 2 descriptions to be sure a Level 2 class isn't more appropriate for you.

Part of the time in most of our Level 1 classes is spent on how to learn a language in general. If you are "good at languages" or took a college-level Spanish class before (even if it was a while ago) you might want to consider going straight into a Level 2 class.

If you choose to skip Level 1 and have not previously studied the language, we highly recommend 2 to 4 hours of private lessons and a Bridge to Level 2 Workshop to get caught up and be ready to dive in (even if you have another romance language under your belt).

If you are more advanced than some of the absolute beginners in your Level 1 class, but not ready for Level 2 yet, please be aware that our Level 1 classes start at the very beginning. While you can take advantage of brushing up on some of the fundamental concepts and still benefit from the class overall, please be patient while the others are learning the language from the absolute beginning for the first time.

Please Note:
The book is not included in the price. The details of the book will be sent to the students through an email.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
Plans change—we totally get it. That’s why you have until 7 days prior to the start date of your class to make any cancelations or same-level transfers. After that, refunds cannot be offered under any circumstance and for transfers, there may be a fee. (Exception: If you’re in an incorrect level placement for a language class, we’ll make sure to get you into the right one).

The cancellation policy for private and makeup lessons is as follows: 24 hour notice is expected for cancellation of any weekday (before 6pm) lessons. Otherwise, you will still be charged. Weeknight (after 6pm) or weekend private or makeup lessons cannot be cancelled.

Map

Google Map

Fluent City

All classes at this location

Start Dates (4)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze 10 $399
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Mar 04 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
Wed, Mar 11 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
Wed, Mar 18 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
Wed, Mar 25 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
Wed, Apr 01 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
Wed, Apr 08 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
Wed, Apr 15 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
Wed, Apr 22 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
Wed, Apr 29 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alexander Goetze
7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD 10 $399
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Mar 31 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Apr 07 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Apr 14 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Apr 21 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Apr 28 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, May 05 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, May 12 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, May 19 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, May 26 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD 10 $399
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Apr 13 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Mon, Apr 20 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Mon, Apr 27 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Mon, May 04 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Mon, May 11 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Mon, May 18 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Mon, Jun 01 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Mon, Jun 08 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Mon, Jun 15 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD 10 $399
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Apr 30 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Thu, May 07 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Thu, May 14 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Thu, May 21 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Thu, May 28 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Thu, Jun 04 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Thu, Jun 11 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Thu, Jun 18 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Thu, Jun 25 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 3990 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (0)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Reviews of Classes at Fluent City (103)

(103 Reviews)
German - Level 1
Reviewed by James C. on 1/25/2019
Was a great class. The teacher (David Tarsha) was excellent and really made learning fun and easy.
loading...
Similar Classes

School: Fluent City

Fluent City

Language & Culture Classes for Adults

We built Fluent City on the belief that curiosity brings enrichment to our lives, leading to better connections to the world around us. Today, we’re bringing people together through popup events and month-long immersions to discover food & drink, art &...

Read more about Fluent City

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Booking this class for a group? Find great private group events here
Loading...