Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

French - Level 3

Fluent City

Price:
$439 14 seats left
Start Date:

Tue, Sep 26, 7:00pm - Nov 28, 9:00pm (10 sessions)

Next start dates (2)

Location:
Midtown, Manhattan
1450 Broadway 14th Fl
Btwn W 40th & 41st Streets
New York, New York 10036
(Map)
Share:
Important:
Price includes books and materials needed
No Booking Fees Book Online Save to WishList

37 people saved this class

Give as a Gift
Class Level: Intermediate
Age Requirements: 17 and older
Average Class Size: 10

What you'll learn in this intermediate french class:

Level 3 is for those who are starting to feel comfortable speaking in the present tense, as well as for those who have basic knowledge of how the main past tense works (j'ai mangé, j’ai finí, etc.).

Here is a list of things that you should be familiar with to know if Level 3 is right for you:

1) You can say short phrases in French in the present tense such as:
  • I speak French.
  • He listens to the radio.
  • We go to the beach every weekend.
  • David and Victoria Beckham live in Paris.
2) Do you get that, for most verbs, you use avoir (j’ai, tu as, il a, etc.) with a past participle* to form the main past tense (le passé composé). Examples of past participles:
  • Acheter = acheté (j'ai acheté, for example)
  • Manger = mangé (il a mangé, for example)
  • Parler = parlé (tu as parlé, for example)
  • Voir = vu (On a vu, for example)
  • Dire = dit (Ils ont dit, for example)
Knowing how the above works, you would be able to form phrases like:
  • I bought a car last week.
  • He ate a sandwich yesterday.
  • We saw a friend at the bar last night.
If the answer to these questions is yes, you would be able to keep up with a Level 3 class. Level 3 will help you solidify the passé compose and introduce the imparfait (je marchais, il parlait, etc.) and plus-que-parfait (tu avais nettoyé, j’avais mange, etc.) tenses, with the goal of enabling students to speak comfortably about events that already happened.

80% of our students place themselves correctly, so don’t stress about your level. Instead stress about saving a spot in a class, before it fills up and you get stuck on a waitlist! Use these descriptions to determine which level best matches where you’re at in your study of the language and save your spot in a class by enrolling ASAP. If you’re a new student, we will do our best to reach you on the phone before your class for an informal placement call to ensure you have placed yourself correctly. If the level of the class you sign up for is too advanced or not advanced enough after the first class or two (and your professor agrees), we will work with you to transfer you to a correct level class.

Books:
You'll need a copy of Grammaire Progressive du Français (Niveau intermédiaire) (ISBN: 978-209-038124-5)
Plans change—we totally get it. That’s why you have until 7 days prior to the start date of your class to make any cancelations or same-level transfers. After that, refunds cannot be offered under any circumstance and for transfers, there may be a fee. (Exception: If you’re in an incorrect level placement for a language class, we’ll make sure to get you into the right one).

The cancellation policy for private and makeup lessons is as follows: 24 hour notice is expected for cancellation of any weekday (before 6pm) lessons. Otherwise, you will still be charged. Weeknight (after 6pm) or weekend private or makeup lessons cannot be cancelled.
Questions & Answers

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Map

Google Map
Fluent City


All classes at this location
Start Dates (3)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD 10 $439
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Oct 03 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 10 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 17 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 24 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 31 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 07 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 14 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 21 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 28 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD 11 $439
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Oct 18 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Oct 25 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Nov 01 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Nov 08 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Nov 15 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Nov 22 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Nov 29 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Dec 06 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Dec 13 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
Wed, Dec 20 7:00pm - 9:00pm TBD
7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell 12 $439
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Nov 16 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Nov 23 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Nov 30 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Dec 07 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Dec 14 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Dec 21 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Dec 28 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Jan 04 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Jan 11 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Jan 18 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell
Thu, Jan 25 7:00pm - 9:00pm Alex Campbell

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 4390 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!

Reviews of Classes at Fluent City

(89 Reviews)
3/19/2016
Erin S.

Attended: French - Level 3
Erin S. gave this class 5 out of 5 CourseHorse stars.

School: Fluent City

Language & Culture Classes for Adults

We built Fluent City on the belief that curiosity brings enrichment to our lives, leading to better connections to the world around us. Today, we’re bringing people together through popup events and month-long immersions to discover food & drink, art &...

Read more about Fluent City

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK ONLINE
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free. Learn More
Loading...