Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Graphic Design Portfolio Bootcamp

Expand your graphic design skills and create a stunning portfolio with this hands-on bootcamp. Learn how to design professional logos, book covers, social media graphics, and more, while receiving valuable feedback and critiques. Take your design career to the next level at NYC Career Centers.

  • Level All levels
  • Age 18 and older
  • Price $1,295
  • Location 185 Madison Ave, New York, NY

Start Dates (10)

  • $1,295
  • Career Centers @ 185 Madison Ave Suite 1104, New York, NY 10016
20 seats left
Book
Show all 5 sessions
  • Fri, Mar 01 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 08 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 15 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 22 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 29 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 8 sessions
  • Tue, Apr 02 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 04 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 09 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 11 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 16 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 18 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 25 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 30 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 4 sessions
  • Sun, Apr 07 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 14 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 21 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 28 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 5 sessions
  • Fri, Apr 19 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 26 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, May 03 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, May 10 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, May 17 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 5 sessions
  • Fri, May 31 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 07 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 14 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 21 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 28 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 5 sessions
  • Fri, Jun 28 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 12 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 19 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 26 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 02 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 8 sessions
  • Mon, Jul 08 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 10 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Mon, Jul 15 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 17 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Mon, Jul 22 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 24 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Mon, Jul 29 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 31 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 5 sessions
  • Fri, Aug 09 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 16 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 23 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Tue, Aug 27 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 29 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 4 sessions
  • Sun, Aug 11 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 18 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 25 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 08 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
20 seats left
Book
Show all 8 sessions
  • Tue, Sep 17 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 19 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Tue, Sep 24 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 26 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Tue, Oct 01 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Tue, Oct 08 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 10 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
  • Tue, Oct 15 at 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Save to WishList Purchase a Gift Card

Class Description

Description

What you'll learn in this graphic design class:

Graphic Design Bootcamp Overview

In this hands-on graphic design bootcamp, you will expand your knowledge of design concepts and processes while producing portfolio projects. This class focuses on how to design and assumes knowledge of Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator.

Throughout the course, you'll produce several portfolio projects, including logos, social media graphics, stationery, book/eBook covers, album covers, event posters, and email announcements.

Assignments will be critiqued during class both by the instructor and during group critiques. You’ll incorporate the feedback into your work and finish the assignment in class, or outside of class as homework (you should expect to work outside of class). Upload your work to Adobe Portfolio (included with your Creative Cloud membership) and you’ll have a portfolio website!

Pre-requisite:

Students should have strong working knowledge in Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator.


Learn more about Graphic Design Portfolio Bootcamp at NYC Career Centers.


Syllabus

Section 1

What is Graphic Design?

  • Brief overview and discussion
  • Elements of design
  • Gestalt Principles

Word Work

  • Letterform Anatomy
  • Type Classifications
  • Speed design with limited source material!

Design Assignment: Logo Design

  • Brief slide show on what makes a good logo
  • Design assignment: Choice of logo redesign for an existing company or create your own personal logo design.
  • Create two distinct design options for your logo.

Section 2

Design Process

  • Explore ideation and the creative design process
  • Logo exploration (Ritos del Sol, Vaya)
  • Learn logo drafting using the template feature in Illustrator
  • Introduction of Photoshop mock-ups
  • Sketching exercise. Learn to work quickly and creatively within fixed parameters.

Color Interaction

  • What do colors mean?
  • How do designers use colors effectively
  • Color palettes: we will explore how to choose appropriate color palettes for different assignments

Design Assignment: Identity System

  • Finalize your logo to design an identity system using a "color study" and complimentary typeface. Use this visual system to either create a stationery design or social media graphics.

Section 3

Typography

  • Typographic Overview
  • Type Selection
  • Type Pairing
  • Foundry Overview
  • Optical Spacing

Design Assignment: Book/eBook Cover Redesign

  • Create either a book or eBook cover design for a re-issue of a famous piece of fiction. Use type and imagery to create a visually appealing cover that will entice a reader.

Section 4

Historical Design Movements

  • Arts & Crafts
  • Art Nouveau
  • Dada
  • Destijl
  • Constructivism
  • Bauhaus
  • Swiss International

Design Assignment: Album Art Cover/Spotify Graphic

  • Create cover art for a band to be used for online purchases of music or streaming music services. Use a mixture of typography, imagery, and basic graphic elements, with consideration for different screen sizes and resolutions.

Section 5

Information Hierarchy

  • What goes first? Second? Last? And why?
  • Are there rules? How can we be creative within these rules?
  • We explore the who, what, where, when, and why of laying out information.
  • Learn about grid systems.

Design Assignment: Event Poster or Email Announcement

  • Students will design a poster or email announcement for an event. Designs should convey a concept relating to the subject, and use a clearly identifiable visual hierarchy.

Section 6

Design Hero Slide Show

  • The instructor will show a brief slide show of past and present design visionaries

Portfolio Criteria & Revision

  • Ten points to consider when developing a professional Graphic Design portfolio.
  • Recommended book list
  • Revision, completion and collection of any final revised exercises or projects.

Refund Policy

  • Students may cancel up to 11 business days before the class/program start date and receive a refund, less the registration fee (10% of the undiscounted course price).
  • Cancellations within 11 business days are not permitted, but students may reschedule up to 4 business days before the class start date.

For cancellations and reschedules, please email us at [email protected]

Reviews of Classes at NYC Career Centers (679)

Questions & Answers (0)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Similar Classes

NYC Career Centers

Since 1988, Career Centers has been a leader in software training courses for individuals and businesses, including Microsoft Excel, VBA, PowerPoint, SQL Server, Adobe Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator, and AutoCAD.

Our courses are instructor-led in small class sizes, located in our state-of-the-art training...

Read more about NYC Career Centers

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

NYC Career Centers

NYC Career Centers

All classes at this location

We are located in New York City on 34th street and Madison Avenue, a few blocks from Penn Station, Port Authority and Times Square. You may also attend this class live online (virtual training) via Zoom. We will reach out with additional information, including the Zoom info and class files.

Also available virtually online

Google Map

Give This Course as a Gift Card

  • Thousands of classes
  • No expiration
  • Unique and memorable gifts for any occasion
  • Personalized
  • Explore a passion, gain a new skill, discover a new hobby, engage in a memorable experience
  • Instant delivery

Buy a Gift Card

Book this Class as a Group Event

Booking this class for a group? Find great private group events

Or see all Graphic Design Group Events

Explore group events and team building activities ranging from cooking, art, escape rooms, trivia, and more.

CourseHorse Gift Cards

  • Creative & unique gift for any occasion
  • Choose from thousands of classes & experiences
  • No expiration date
  • Instant e-delivery (or choose a date)
  • Add a personalized message
Buy a Gift Card
gift card with the CourseHorse logo gift card with the CourseHorse logo
Loading...