Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Dialysis Technician

The Manhattan Institute

Price:
$1,499 20 seats left
Start Date:

Mon, Jun 26 9:00am - 3:00pm (16 sessions)

Next start dates (6)

Location:
Midtown, Manhattan
45 W 34th St 5th Floor
Btwn 5th Ave & Avenue Of The Americas
New York, New York 10001
(Map)
Share:
Important:
Requires HS diploma or take exam 2 hrs before the first class.
No Booking Fees Book Online Save to WishList

6 people saved this class

Give as a Gift
Class Level: All levels
Average Class Size: 20

What you'll learn in this medical training:

Under supervision, Dialysis Technicians operate machines and perform dialysis on patients with acute or chronic kidney failure. Dialysis removes waste products and fluids from a patient's blood and vascular system in patients whose kidneys are not adequately removing those toxinns. Dialysis Technicians function under the direction of nurses and physicians. This specialized training is also appropriate for Medical Assistants, Licensed Practical Nurses, RN’s EMT’S, Patient Care Technicians, CNA’s, Phlebotomists, and anyone interested in a medical health career.

If you have an interest in science and technology and also like working with people, then consider a career as a Dialysis Technician. Dialysis Technicians give patients important social and emotional support and also provide vital information on patient conditions to nurses, doctors, and other medical staff. Because Dialysis Technicians can often have frequent and long-term interactions with the same patients, this is considered by many to be a very rewarding career.

Below are a few of the topics that the Dialysis Technician course will cover:
  • Introduction to hemodialysis
  • Chemistry of body fluids
  • Water in the human body
  • Renal anatomy and physiology
  • Pathology of renal failure
  • Hemodialysis devices
  • Patient treatment procedures
  • The assessment process
  • Infection control and standard precautions
  • Health factors in dialysis
  • Medication problems and dialysis
  • Nutrition management
  • Acute renal failure and dialysis
  • Chronic dialysis therapy issues and concerns
  • Peritoneal dialysis and home dialysis
Students must have a HS diploma to take these classes. If not - they must take an entrance exam and arrive 2 hours before the first class.
For the convenience of our students, school programs are organized into different schedules, which divide programs into segments of instruction called “quarters” or “terms”. Course 6 weeks in length or less are referred to as “mini courses”.  Refund policies, which are governed by New York State law, will be different depending upon whether your program and schedule is less than six weeks, or it is divided by terms or quarters, and how many terms or quarters are contained within each program and schedule.

Review your enrollment agreement carefully to determine the policy, which applies to your selected schedule and program.

Quarters Refund Policy

A) A student who cancels the enrollment agreement within seven days after signing it will have all monies paid to the school refunded with the exception of the non-refundable registration fee which is due and payable at the time the student signs the enrollment agreement. Thereafter, the student will be liable for the non-refundable registration fee, the cost of any books and supplies accepted, and any tuition liability as described below. Tuition liability is calculated according to the student’s last day of physical attendance at the school. Tuition liability is divided by the number of “quarters” in the program.
 
B)  If the student withdraws or is discontinued during the first quarter of instruction the school may retain:
  • 0% of the quarter’s tuition if termination is prior to or during the first week of instruction; or 
  • 25% of the quarter’s tuition if termination is during the second week of instruction; or
  • 50% of the quarter’s tuition if termination is during the third week of instruction; or 
  • 75% of the quarter’s tuition if termination is during the fourth week of instruction; or
  • 100% of the quarter’s tuition if termination occurs after the fourth week of instruction.  
C)  If the student withdraws or is discontinued during the subsequent quarter of instruction the school may retain:
  • 25% of the quarter’s tuition if termination is during the first week of instruction; or
  • 50% of the quarter’s tuition if termination is during the second week of instruction; or
  • 75% of the quarter’s tuition if termination is during the third week of instruction; or
  • 100% of the quarter’s tuition if termination occurs after the third week of instruction.
D)  For students terminating their instruction during the second quarter of their program, and not with-standing the provisions of paragraph B, the provisions of :

Paragraph A regarding refunds of program charges shall apply unless the school demonstrates that there were no significant educational changes in the student’s program such as; non-functioning educational equipment adversely affecting the student’s program, a material change in the student’s schedule as agreed to at the time of enrollment, substitution of a teacher after instruction has began, where the teacher does not possess the necessary language skills to effectively communicate the subject matter to the students in the approved language of instruction, or a significant increase in the student to teacher ratio.

Term Refund Policy

A) A student who cancels this agreement within seven days after signing it will have all monies paid to the school refunded with the exception of the non-refundable registration fee which is due and payable at the time the student signs this enrollment agreement. Thereafter, the student will be liable for the non-refundable registration fee,the cost of any books and supplies accepted, and any tuition liability as described below, calculated according to the student’s last day of physical attendance at the school. Tuition liability is divided by the number of “terms” in the program and schedule.

B) If the student withdraws or is discontinued during the first and only term of instruction the school may retain:
  • 0% of the term’s tuition if termination is prior to or during the first week of instruction; or 
  • 20% of the term’s tuition if termination is during the second week of instruction; or 
  • 35% of the term’s tuition if termination is during the third week of instruction; or 
  • 50% of the term’s tuition if termination is during the fourth week of instruction; or
  • 70% of the term’s tuition if termination occurs during the fifth week of instruction; or  
  • 100% of the term’s tuition if termination occurs after the completion of the fifth week of instruction.
Subsequent Terms:
  • 20% of the term’s tuition if termination is during the second week of instruction; or 
  • 35% of the term’s tuition if termination is during the third week of instruction; or 
  • 50% of the term’s tuition if termination is during the fourth week of instruction; or
  • 70% of the term’s tuition if termination occurs during the fifth week of instruction; or  
  • 100% of the term’s tuition if termination occurs after the completion of the fifth week of instruction.
Paragraph A regarding refunds of program charges shall apply unless the school demonstrates that there were no significant educational changes in the student’s program such as; non-functioning educational equipment adversely affecting the student’s program, a material change in the student’s schedule as agreed to at the time of enrollment, substitution of a teacher after instruction has began where the teacher does not possess the necessary language skills to effectively communicate the subject matter to the students in the approved language of instruction, or a significant increase in the student to teacher ratio.

C) Any refund due to a student shall be paid by the school within forty-five days of the date of termination,cancellation, or withdrawal. Such date shall be the earliest of the date upon which the student informs the school in writing that he or she has withdrawn, or the date that the school has determined the student to have withdrawn in accordance with applicable law.

D) The failure of a student to notify the school's Director in writing of withdrawal may delay refund of tuition pursuant to Section 5002 of Educational Law.

Refund Policy Language-Mini
(6 or less weeks in duration)

A student who cancels within 7 days of signing the enrollment agreement but before instruction begins receives all monies returned with the exception of the non-refundable registration fee. 

Thereafter, a student will be liable for:
  • the non-refundable registration fee plus
  • the cost of any textbooks or supplies accepted plus
  • tuition liability as of the student's last date of physical attendance. 
Tuition liability is determined by the percentage of the program offered to the student.

If termination occurs school may keep:
  • 0 - 15% of the program 0%
  • 16 - 30% of the program 25%
  • 31 - 45% of the program 50%
  • 46 - 60% of the program 75%
  • After 60% of the program 100%
The student refund may be more than that stated above if the accrediting agency refund policy results in a greater refund.

Paragraph A regarding refunds of program charges shall apply unless the school demonstrates that there were no significant educational changes in the student’s program such as; non-functioning educational equipment adversely affecting the student’s program, a material change in the student’s schedule as agreed to at the time of enrollment, substitution of a teacher after instruction has began where the teacher does not possess the necessary language skills to effectively communicate the subject matter to the students in the approved language of
instruction, or a significant increase in the student to teacher ratio.

B) Any refund due to a student shall be paid by the school within forty-five days of the date of termination, cancellation, or withdrawal. Such date shall be the earliest of the date upon which the student informs the school in writing that he or she has withdrawn, or the date that the school has determined the student to have withdrawn in accordance with applicable law.

C) The failure of a student to notify the school director in writing of withdrawal may delay refund of tuition pursuant to Section 5002 of Educational Law. 

Map

Google Map
The Manhattan Institute


All classes at this location
Start Dates (7)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
9:00am - 3:00pm TBD 16 $1,499
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jun 27 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Wed, Jun 28 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Thu, Jun 29 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Mon, Jul 03 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Tue, Jul 04 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Wed, Jul 05 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Thu, Jul 06 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Mon, Jul 10 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Tue, Jul 11 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Wed, Jul 12 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Thu, Jul 13 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Mon, Jul 17 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Tue, Jul 18 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Wed, Jul 19 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Thu, Jul 20 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD 24 $1,499
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jul 04 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Jul 05 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Jul 06 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Jul 10 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Jul 11 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Jul 12 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Jul 13 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Jul 17 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Jul 18 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Jul 19 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Jul 20 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Jul 24 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Jul 25 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Jul 26 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Jul 27 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Jul 31 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Aug 01 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Aug 02 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Aug 03 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Aug 07 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Aug 08 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Aug 09 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Aug 10 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
9:00am - 3:00pm TBD 16 $1,499
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jul 25 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Wed, Jul 26 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Thu, Jul 27 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Mon, Jul 31 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Tue, Aug 01 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Wed, Aug 02 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Thu, Aug 03 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Mon, Aug 07 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Tue, Aug 08 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Wed, Aug 09 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Thu, Aug 10 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Mon, Aug 14 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Tue, Aug 15 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Wed, Aug 16 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
Thu, Aug 17 9:00am - 3:00pm TBD
9:00am - 5:00pm TBD 12 $1,499
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sun, Jul 30 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Aug 05 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Aug 06 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Aug 12 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Aug 13 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Aug 19 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Aug 20 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Aug 26 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Aug 27 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Sep 02 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Sep 03 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD 24 $1,499
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Aug 15 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Aug 16 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Aug 17 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Aug 21 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Aug 22 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Aug 23 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Aug 24 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Aug 28 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Aug 29 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Aug 30 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Aug 31 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Sep 04 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Sep 05 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Sep 06 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Sep 07 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Sep 11 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Sep 12 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Sep 13 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Sep 14 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Sep 18 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Sep 19 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Sep 20 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Sep 21 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
9:00am - 5:00pm TBD 12 $1,499
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sun, Sep 10 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Sep 16 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Sep 17 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Sep 23 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Sep 24 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Sep 30 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Oct 01 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Oct 07 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Oct 08 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sat, Oct 14 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
Sun, Oct 15 9:00am - 5:00pm TBD
5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD 24 $1,499
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Sep 26 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Sep 27 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Sep 28 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Oct 02 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Oct 03 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Oct 04 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Oct 05 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Oct 09 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Oct 10 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Oct 11 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Oct 12 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Oct 16 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Oct 17 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Oct 18 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Oct 19 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Oct 23 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Oct 24 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Oct 25 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Oct 26 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Mon, Oct 30 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Tue, Oct 31 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Wed, Nov 01 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD
Thu, Nov 02 5:45pm - 9:45pm TBD

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 14990 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!

School: The Manhattan Institute

The Manhattan Institute is dedicated to empowering individuals with the skills, knowledge, practical training and experience needed for a successful career in the growing and rewarding fields of allied health care.

The Manhattan Institute is comprised of very special and caring professionals. It starts...

Read more about The Manhattan Institute

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK ONLINE
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free. Learn More
Loading...