Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Handbuilding and Wheel (Beginner)

at 92nd Street Y - Upper East Side

(513)
Course Details
Price:
$620 2 seats left
Start Date:

Mon, Sep 16, 9:00am - Dec 16, 12:00pm (14 sessions)

Next start dates (6)

Location:
Upper East Side, Manhattan
1395 Lexington Ave
At 92nd St
New York, New York 10128
(Map)
Share:
Important:
Venue: S369, 3rd Fl, S Bldg
This is a 13-session class
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 12
Teacher: Carol Cutler

What you'll learn in this handbuilding class:

Play in the mud this winter and discover the joy of working with your hands!  

Join our beginners’ classes for an introduction to the fundamentals of handbuilding techniques — pinch, coil and slab construction — and wheel throwing to make bowls, vases, cups, plates and other vessel forms.

Supply List: To view the list please click here

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
Refund Policies:

92nd Street Y is not responsible for providing makeup classes or issuing refunds for programs missed as a result of illness, emergencies or other events beyond our control.

There are no refunds for outings, classes or workshops that meet fewer than three times per semester.

If you are unable to attend, you may contact Customer Service prior to the first date for a receipt that enables you to claim your contribution as a tax-deductible gift.

Unless otherwise noted in program description, the following schedule applies to programs which meet three times or more per semester:
  • To receive a 100% refund, written request must be received 2 weeks prior to the first session.
  • To receive a 75% refund, written request must be received at least one day prior to the first session.
  • To receive a 50% refund, written request must be received at least one day prior to the second session.
  • After that, refunds cannot be granted.
All refund requests must be submitted in writing to Customer Service. Refunds are computed from the date written notice is received.

To receive a refund, you must enclose the original of your confirmation letter.

Please allow three to four weeks for processing of your refund request. Processing fees, membership fees, auditions fees and class or exercise cards are not refundable. No cash refunds.

Map

Google Map

92nd Street Y

All classes at this location

Start Dates (7)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler 14 $620
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Sep 23 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Sep 30 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Oct 07 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Oct 14 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Oct 21 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Oct 28 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Nov 04 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Nov 11 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Nov 18 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Nov 25 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Dec 02 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Dec 09 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
Mon, Dec 16 9:00am - 12:00pm Carol Cutler
9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel 14 $593
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Sep 25 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 02 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 09 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 16 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 23 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 30 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Nov 06 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Nov 13 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Nov 20 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Nov 27 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Dec 04 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Dec 11 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Dec 18 9:00am - 12:00pm Nadine Sobel
12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel 14 $593
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Sep 25 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 02 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 09 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 16 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 23 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Oct 30 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Nov 06 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Nov 13 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Nov 20 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Nov 27 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Dec 04 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Dec 11 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
Wed, Dec 18 12:30pm - 3:30pm Nadine Sobel
10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton 13 $593
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Sep 28 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Oct 05 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Oct 12 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Oct 19 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Oct 26 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Nov 02 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Nov 09 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Nov 16 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Nov 23 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Nov 30 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Dec 07 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
Sat, Dec 14 10:00am - 1:00pm Gustav Hamilton
7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall 6 $227
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Oct 03 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Oct 10 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Oct 17 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Oct 24 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Oct 31 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall 7 $227
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Nov 14 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Nov 21 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Nov 28 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Dec 05 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Dec 12 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
Thu, Dec 19 7:00pm - 9:00pm Jason Segall
7:00pm - 9:00pm Veronica Frenning 6 $227
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Nov 18 7:00pm - 9:00pm Veronica Frenning
Mon, Nov 25 7:00pm - 9:00pm Veronica Frenning
Mon, Dec 02 7:00pm - 9:00pm Veronica Frenning
Mon, Dec 09 7:00pm - 9:00pm Veronica Frenning
Mon, Dec 16 7:00pm - 9:00pm Veronica Frenning

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 6200 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (1)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Question from Christine G.
After completing this class can students get studio time?
Answer from Georgia C. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi Christine, Studio time is only available during the weeks that the customer is registered in a class, not after. Hope this helps!
Answer
Cancel

Reviews of Classes at 92nd Street Y (513)

(513 Reviews)
Handbuilding and Wheel (Beginner)
Reviewed by Cat W. on 8/18/2016
The class was awful. The instruction amounted to a couple of demonstrations on the wheel and one class on pinch pots with a bit of hand building ideas if you wanted them. It was mostly a free for all; folks clamboring for materials and personal attention and a lot of people who were not in the class vying for materials and space as well. The studio is a mess; no one knows where anything is. Sadly, the instructors meant well but were just not good at instructing.
Handbuilding and Wheel (Beginner)
Reviewed by Anonymous on 12/22/2017
Handbuilding and Wheel (Beginner)
Reviewed by Anonymous on 12/19/2017
Handbuilding and Wheel (Beginner)
Reviewed by Anonymous on 11/17/2017
Handbuilding and Wheel (Beginner)
Reviewed by Anonymous on 4/20/2017
loading...
loading...
Similar Classes

School: 92nd Street Y

92nd Street Y

92nd Street Y is a world-class cultural and community center where people all over the world connect through culture, arts, entertainment and conversation. For over 140 years, we have harnessed the power of arts and ideas to enrich, enlighten and change lives, and the power of community to repair the...

Read more about 92nd Street Y

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free.
Loading...