Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Digital Photography I: Mastering the Fundamentals

PhotoManhattan

Price:
$390 0 seats left
Start Date:

Sat, Jan 06, 10:45am - Feb 03, 1:45pm ( 5 sessions )

Next start dates (23)

Location:
Union Square, Manhattan
51 W 14th St Ste 3R
Btwn 5th & 6th Avenues
New York, New York 10011
(Map)
Share:
Important:
Digital Photography I (5 Sessions): Jan 06-Feb 03, Saturdays 10:45 AM-1:45 PM.
No Booking Fees Book Online Save to WishList

428 people saved this class

Give as a Gift
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 8
Teacher: Photo Manhattan

What you'll learn in this digital photography class:

Get a solid grounding on the fundamentals of the world of photography. This beginner photography course covers well beyond the basics of your digital camera and exposure — it helps you create a solid foundation to start your photography journey. 

Classes will consist of different topics each week, including motion blur, composition and framing, focus control, built-in flash and the basics of digital post-processing. This is also an ideal course to learn the best tricks for night photography.

Students will be given weekly assignments and photo critiques, as well as in-class photo shoots which will further strengthen the techniques learned during each class. Should the weather permits, some sessions will consist of shooting workshops around Union Square, NYC, where students will practice shooting in real life scenarios. 

Students will also develop a series of photographs of their own choice of topic throughout the course that will be showcased in a group photo exhibit (optional). View samples of our Digital Photography I students' work here.

Available versions:
  • Standard:
    - 9 sessions: 2-hour classes, includes an exhibit.
    - 8 sessions: 2-hour classes, optional exhibit.

  • Intensive:
    - 5 sessions: 3-hour classes, optional exhibit.
    - 4 sessions: 4-hour classes, optional exhibit.
All versions cover the same material. Limited to 15 students.

Requirements: 
Any digital camera, with or without manual mode (DSLRs or Point and Shoots). For the first class, please try to bring your manual for reference.

Course Structure Suggestion: 
This course covers all of the basics and we therefore highly recommend that it is taken before any other course at PhotoManhattan (including Portraiture and Street Photography).

Notes: 
Film cameras are accepted in this course. Please note that while most content of this course is applicable to both digital and film photography, there will be terms to learn that apply specifically to digital photography. 

Should the assigned instructor become suddenly unavailable, we’ll allocate a substitute.
School Notes: Each course comes with 1 Free make up class - schedule your makeup class hassle-free anytime. And free 24-hour cancellation.
We have a 24 hour notice no-questions asked refund policy. If you believe you are unable to commit to your booking, please notify us within 24 hours and we'll issue an immediate refund.

Map

Google Map
PhotoManhattan


All classes at this location
14th Street stop for all trains.
Start Dates (24)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan 5 $390
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Jan 13 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Jan 20 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Jan 27 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Feb 03 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
1:30pm - 5:30pm Photo Manhattan 4 $390
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jan 09 1:30pm - 5:30pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Jan 10 1:30pm - 5:30pm Photo Manhattan
Thu, Jan 11 1:30pm - 5:30pm Photo Manhattan
6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan 9 $400
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jan 16 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Jan 23 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Jan 30 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Feb 06 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Feb 13 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Feb 20 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Feb 27 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Fri, Mar 02 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan 5 $390
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Jan 17 6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Jan 24 6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Jan 31 6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Feb 07 6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan
3:30pm - 6:30pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Feb 03 3:30pm - 6:30pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Feb 10 3:30pm - 6:30pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Feb 17 3:30pm - 6:30pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Feb 24 3:30pm - 6:30pm Photo Manhattan
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan 8 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Feb 12 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Feb 19 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Feb 26 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Mar 05 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Mar 12 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Mar 19 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Mar 26 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Feb 17 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Feb 24 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Mar 03 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Mar 10 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Feb 20 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Feb 27 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Mar 06 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Mar 13 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Feb 28 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Mar 07 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Mar 14 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Mar 21 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Mar 03 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Mar 10 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Mar 17 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Mar 24 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan 8 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Mar 13 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Mar 20 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Mar 27 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Apr 03 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Apr 10 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Apr 17 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Apr 24 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Mar 24 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Mar 31 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Apr 07 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Apr 14 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Mar 29 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Thu, Apr 05 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Thu, Apr 12 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Thu, Apr 19 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Apr 09 6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Apr 16 6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Apr 23 6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Apr 30 6:00pm - 9:00pm Photo Manhattan
7:15pm - 9:15pm Photo Manhattan 8 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Apr 11 7:15pm - 9:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Apr 18 7:15pm - 9:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Apr 25 7:15pm - 9:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, May 02 7:15pm - 9:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, May 09 7:15pm - 9:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, May 16 7:15pm - 9:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, May 23 7:15pm - 9:15pm Photo Manhattan
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Apr 28 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, May 05 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, May 12 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, May 19 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, May 01 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, May 08 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, May 15 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, May 22 6:30pm - 9:30pm Photo Manhattan
1:30pm - 5:30pm TBD 4 $390
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, May 01 1:30pm - 5:30pm TBD
Thu, May 03 1:30pm - 5:30pm TBD
Fri, May 04 1:30pm - 5:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan 8 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, May 14 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, May 21 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Jun 04 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Jun 11 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Jun 18 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Jun 25 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Mon, Jul 02 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
3:15pm - 6:15pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, May 19 3:15pm - 6:15pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Jun 02 3:15pm - 6:15pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Jun 09 3:15pm - 6:15pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Jun 16 3:15pm - 6:15pm Photo Manhattan
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Jun 06 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Jun 13 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Jun 20 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
Wed, Jun 27 12:15pm - 3:15pm Photo Manhattan
10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan 5 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Jun 09 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Jun 16 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Jun 23 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
Sat, Jun 30 10:45am - 1:45pm Photo Manhattan
6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan 7 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jun 12 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Jun 19 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Jun 26 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Jul 10 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Jul 17 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
Tue, Jul 24 6:00pm - 8:00pm Photo Manhattan
12:30pm - 4:30pm Photo Manhattan 4 Free Info Session
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Jun 20 12:30pm - 4:30pm Photo Manhattan
Thu, Jun 21 12:30pm - 4:30pm Photo Manhattan
Fri, Jun 22 12:30pm - 4:30pm Photo Manhattan

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 3900 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!

Reviews of Classes at PhotoManhattan

(135 Reviews)
11/3/2017
Patricia C.

Attended: Digital Photography I: Mastering the Fundamentals
Our instructor was great, thoughtful and a lot of fun. I learned a lot! It was a very small class as one of our students dropped out because there was a conflict. Perhaps I should not complain as we had almost a private class, but I wish there had been a few more students as more input from other students might have been inspiring as well. Enjoyed it and I would take a class with this company again.

11/3/2017
Lori C.

Attended: Digital Photography I: Mastering the Fundamentals
The teacher was wonderful. He was extremely patient and gave very clear instructions. He was very organized. The classes were three hours each and I learned a great deal of information. One of the best classes that I took. The space was very upbeat and comfortable. I highly recommend this school.

6/30/2017
Eric F.

Attended: Digital Photography I: Mastering the Fundamentals
The teacher was great! It always feels good to share photos in the class.

4/30/2017
Anonymous

Attended: Digital Photography I: Mastering the Fundamentals
Great course and not too technical for a beginner. Charlie is a great teacher. If you want a professional course this is not for you because it's fun, easy to understand and on point.

4/3/2016
Sharon B.

Attended: Digital Photography I: Mastering the Fundamentals
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS TEACHER!!! the course was amazing, i will definitely be taking more classes at Photomanhattan.

School: PhotoManhattan

Established in 2003 in NYC, with thousands of happy students and a solid presence in NYC, PhotoManhattan Photography School provides excellent photography instruction to all levels, from hobbyist to semi professionals all year round. Our facility offers fully equipped photo studio rentals and plenty...

Read more about PhotoManhattan

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK ONLINE
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free. Learn More
Loading...