Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Beginning Zen Shiatsu

at Zen Shiatsu Chicago - Evanston

Course Details
Price:
$500 8 seats left
Start Date:

Fri, Jul 19, 7:00pm - Jul 28, 4:00pm (6 sessions)

Next start dates (4)

Location:
Evanston, North Side
825A Chicago Ave
Btwn Main & Kedzie Streets
Evanston, Illinois 60202
(Map)
Share:
Important:
Price does not include cost of books
Description
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 14

What you'll learn in this massage class:

In Beginning Zen Shiatsu, we impart the simple ability to be with another human being in a healing context. This class is open to anyone who wants to learn to share this beautiful skill with others.

Every time you lay hands on another human, you have an opportunity to express mindfulness and compassion. You have the ability to spark the intrinsic healing potential of another individual.

In this class, we learn the fundamentals of Yin/Yang (Balance), Ki (Energy), Jing (Essence) and Shen (Consciousness). We study the twelve energy meridians of the body; their associations, functions and major points.

Most importantly, we learn how to facilitate change without manipulation using the principles of Zen Shiatsu. We learn how to take our cues from the receiver and achieve effective, supportive contact. We learn how to attune ourselves to the energy of ourself and our neighbors. You will be able to open an energetic circuit, tonify deficiency and calm excesses. By the end of the class, you will be able to give a full-body treatment.

Through self-care exercises, hands-on techniques and discussion, you will take your first steps towards understanding Chinese Medicine and Zen Shiatsu. This class is a self-contained learning experience and is also the foundation for our Shiatsu Certification Program.

Although there are many layers of complexity to these practices, everything you need to be a healer is contained in this one class. Cultivate a Zen Mind, a Beginner's Mind, and approach your receiver ready to learn.

"If your mind is empty, it is always ready for anything; it is open to everything. In the beginner's mind there are many possibilities; in the expert's mind there are few." - Shunryu Suzuki, Soto Zen Master

Note: All classes earn Illinois professional therapists CE's (Massage Therapists, Acupuncturists, Naprapaths, Nurses, Occupational Therapists, Physical Therapists, Social Workers)

Additional Notes:
  • One textbook is required for the class - Shiatsu: Theory and Practice by Carola Beresford-Cook. The cost is $66.00, and it can be purchased from our bookstore in advance or on the first day of class.
  • This stand-alone class is offered for Continuing Education credit for licensed professionals and counts for 30 CE hours.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
Cancellations made at least 48 hours in advance of the class will be honored with a full refund. Students who cancel less than 48 hours prior to the start time of the class will receive a credit towards a future class.

Map

Google Map

Zen Shiatsu Chicago

All classes at this location

Start Dates (5)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD 10 $500
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Jul 11 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Thu, Jul 18 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Thu, Jul 25 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Thu, Aug 01 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Thu, Aug 08 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Thu, Aug 15 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Thu, Aug 22 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Thu, Aug 29 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Thu, Sep 05 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD 6 $500
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Jul 20 9:00am - 4:00pm TBD
Sun, Jul 21 9:00am - 4:00pm TBD
Fri, Jul 26 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Sat, Jul 27 9:00am - 4:00pm TBD
Sun, Jul 28 9:00am - 4:00pm TBD
11:00am - 2:00pm TBD 10 $500
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Sep 17 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Sep 24 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 01 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 08 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 15 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 22 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 29 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 05 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 12 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD 10 $500
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Sep 18 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Sep 25 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Oct 02 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Oct 09 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Oct 16 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Oct 23 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Oct 30 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Nov 06 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Nov 13 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD 6 $500
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Oct 19 9:00am - 4:00pm TBD
Sun, Oct 20 9:00am - 4:00pm TBD
Fri, Oct 25 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Sat, Oct 26 9:00am - 4:00pm TBD
Sun, Oct 27 9:00am - 4:00pm TBD

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 5000 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (0)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Similar Classes

School: Zen Shiatsu Chicago

Zen Shiatsu Chicago

Zen Shiatsu Chicago (formerly Ohashiatsu® Chicago), is Chicago’s oldest shiatsu center. In 1988, the center was founded by Matthew Sweigart as a branch school of the Ohashi Institute, NYC.

Over the next eighteen years, Ohashiatsu® Chicago generated an enormous output of talented healers, gifted instructors,...

Read more about Zen Shiatsu Chicago

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified Chicago educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free.
Loading...