Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Sewing 101 Basics (Online)

at Sew Anastasia -

(3)
Course Details
Price:
$295 4 seats left
Start Date:

Mon, Jul 19, 6:00pm - Aug 23, 9:00pm Central Time (6 sessions)

Next start dates (7)

Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 12

What you'll learn in this sewing class:

In this class you will learn all of the basic stitches and techniques including how to thread sewing machine and wind a bobbin. In this class series you will create a sample binder of personal seam and technique samples, that will have everything you have learned in it! 

You can reference this when you are working on a project and forget exactly what the difference between and edge stitch and a top stitch is. Students will build skills by learning fundamental seams and finishes used in modern day garment construction. This class is taught as an instructional class. You will be walked though all the techniques step by step as a small group.

This class is limited to 6 people so make sure to sign up early!

Since this class is virtual you will need to supply your own sewing space and sewing machine. If you have a serger that would be awesome! If you do not that is ok and we will fill your time with other samples.

Class will be held over zoom.

You will need to provide your own supplies as listed below: 

  • 1. 4 yards of muslin of cotton fabric
  • 1/2 yard of elastic
  • 1/8 yard of rib knit
  • 1 regular zipper
  • 1 invisible zipper
  • 1 binder
  • 20 binder sheets
  • Printer paper
  • Thread
  • Pencil
  • Scissors
  • Seam ripper
  • Snips

There will also be a pdf packet sent to you with a few templates we will use in class.

Binder includes - How To Self Made Samples Of The Following

* Something not listed that you want to learn? Just ask and I can add it.

  • Bias Tape
  • Pinked Seams
  • Top Stitch
  • Edge stitch
  • French seam
  • Regular zipper
  • Invisible zipper
  • Laped zipper
  • Serging curves
  • Serging corners 
  • Button holes
  • Hand sewing a button
  • Machine sewing a button
  • Gathering
  • Notches
  • Dart with legs
  • Fish eye dart
  • Pleats
  • Sewing curves
  • Interfacing types 
  • Needles and needle types
  • Flat felt seam
  • Seam with piping
  • Rolled hem
  • Serged and flipped hem
  • Bias binded hem
  • Hook and eye
  • Snap
  • Blind hem by machine and hand
  • Over lock stitch
  • Straight stitch
  • Zig Zag Stitch
  • Threading a sewing machine
  • Winding a bobbin


Remote Learning

This course is available for "remote" learning and will be available to anyone with access to an internet device with a microphone (this includes most models of computers, tablets). Classes will take place with a "Live" instructor at the date/times listed below.

Upon registration, the instructor will send along additional information about how to log-on and participate in the class.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
Cancellations made at least 48 hours in advance of the class will be honored with a full refund. Students who cancel less than 48 hours prior to the start time of the class will receive a credit towards a future class.
Start Dates (8)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka 6 $295
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Jul 26 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Mon, Aug 02 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Mon, Aug 09 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Mon, Aug 16 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Mon, Aug 23 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka 6 $295
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sun, Aug 08 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Sun, Aug 15 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Sun, Aug 22 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Sun, Aug 29 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Sun, Sep 05 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka 6 $295
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Sep 06 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Mon, Sep 13 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Mon, Sep 20 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Mon, Sep 27 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Mon, Oct 04 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka 6 $295
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sun, Sep 12 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Sun, Sep 19 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Sun, Sep 26 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Sun, Oct 03 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
Sun, Oct 10 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time Anastasia Chatzka
11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD 6 $295
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sun, Oct 17 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Sun, Oct 24 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Sun, Oct 31 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Sun, Nov 07 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Sun, Nov 14 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD 6 $295
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Oct 25 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
Mon, Nov 01 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
Mon, Nov 08 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
Mon, Nov 15 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
Mon, Nov 22 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD 6 $295
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sun, Nov 28 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Sun, Dec 05 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Sun, Dec 12 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Sun, Dec 19 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
Sun, Dec 26 11:00am - 2:00pm Central Time TBD
6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD 6 $295
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Dec 06 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
Mon, Dec 13 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
Mon, Dec 20 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
Mon, Dec 27 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD
Mon, Jan 03 6:00pm - 9:00pm Central Time TBD

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 2950 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (1)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Question from Anonymous
Hello, please will I get a Certificate after the 6weeks Online Course? Also what if I miss a class how do I get the things thought in my absence? After all the training is guarantee that I will be perfect in each of those Courses? Why am asking all this is because I'll be joining you from Africa-Nigeria. Thank you in anticipation, while I wait for your kind response.
Answer
Cancel

Reviews of Classes at Sew Anastasia (3)

Similar Classes

School: Sew Anastasia

Sew Anastasia

Anastasia Chatzka is a Chicago based fashion designer with over 20 years of sewing, pattern drafting, and design experience. She has refined her skills through the years while working with renowned industry professionals, including Betsey Johnson and Anna Sui. Anastasia also has a BFA in fashion design....

Read more about Sew Anastasia

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified Chicago educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Booking this class for a group? Find great private group events here
Loading...