Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Adult Wheel Throwing

at Terra Incognito Studios - Oak Park

Course Details
Price:
$350 12 seats left
Start Date:

Thu, Jul 11, 7:00pm - Aug 29, 10:00pm (8 sessions)

Next start dates (7)

Location:
Oak Park, Suburbs
246 Chicago Ave
Btwn N Cuyler & Harvey Avenues
Oak Park, Illinois 60302
(Map)
Share:
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: All levels
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 6
Teacher: Mary Dye

What you'll learn in this pottery wheel class:

Our classes combine students of varying skill levels. We find that this helps both the less skilled students, who learn from the more advanced students (as well as the teacher), and helps the more advanced students to articulate what, how and why they do what they do.

Beginners, will receive an introduction to basic throwing techniques: centering clay, forming cylinders, bowls and plate forms. Glazing and surface treatment also covered.

For those who are comfortable throwing basic cylinder and bowl shapes, classes will focus on constructing more complex forms. Teapots, pitchers, covered jars, casseroles etc. will be explored. Students also work on mastering the more technical aspects of glazing and firing. Advanced students are, also, eligible for ADVANCED TOPIC seminars as they are offered. 

A beginner's tool kit, for the wheel classes, is available through us ($25), or can be purchased at some Art supply stores. 

 Students should wear clothes that can get messy, including their shoes. Also, a hand towel is always nice to have.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
As long as you notify us one full week before the first class meeting, you can get a refund, minus a $40 processing fee. Not attending class does not constitute an official drop out. 

After the first class date, no refunds are available but you may be able to get a full or partial store credit towards another session. 

We can only refund you if you drop out due to a documented medical emergency that prevents you from attending several class sessions.

Policy concerning missed classes:
  • Classes missed due conflicts in the students schedule are not our responsibility.
  • If a student must miss a class, they are able to make that class up by attending a class of a similar kind, if available, during the same enrollment session.
  • If, for any reason, Terra Incognito must cancel a class, a new class will be rescheduled at the convenience of the majority of the class members.

Map

Google Map

Terra Incognito Studios

All classes at this location

Start Dates (8)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye 8 $350
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Jul 18 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Jul 25 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Aug 01 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Aug 08 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Aug 15 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Aug 22 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Aug 29 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye 8 $350
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jul 23 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Jul 30 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Aug 06 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Aug 13 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Aug 20 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Aug 27 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Sep 03 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD 8 $350
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Jul 31 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Aug 07 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Aug 14 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Aug 21 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Aug 28 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Sep 04 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
Wed, Sep 11 7:00pm - 10:00pm TBD
7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye 8 $350
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Aug 06 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Aug 13 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Aug 20 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Aug 27 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Sep 03 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Sep 10 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Sep 17 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye 8 $350
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Aug 14 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Wed, Aug 21 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Wed, Aug 28 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Wed, Sep 04 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Wed, Sep 11 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Wed, Sep 18 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Wed, Sep 25 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye 8 $350
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Sep 12 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Sep 19 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Sep 26 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Oct 03 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Oct 10 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Oct 17 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Thu, Oct 24 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye 8 $350
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Sep 17 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Sep 24 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 01 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 08 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 15 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 22 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 29 9:30am - 12:30pm Mary Dye
7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye 8 $350
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Oct 01 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 08 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 15 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 22 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Oct 29 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Nov 05 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye
Tue, Nov 12 7:00pm - 10:00pm Mary Dye

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 3500 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (0)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Similar Classes

School: Terra Incognito Studios

Terra Incognito Studios

Terra Incognito has a long history of supporting the ceramic arts. We have expanded our focus to include Jewelry classes. We have an ongoing visiting artist series, which brings in top names for workshops, plus, a full exhibition schedule of established and emerging artists. We are especially proud...

Read more about Terra Incognito Studios

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified Chicago educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free.
Loading...