Travel Photography Classes NYC

38 classes
  • Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age

Travel Photography Classes Coming up in New York

Taking advantage of beautiful Central Park, this photography workshop focuses on how to take pictures of the environment (from cityscapes to landscapes). Learn the art of scouting for an image and visual editing. This photo tour meets at the Central Park East (May - September) or the Bethesda Fountain (October - April) to take full advantage of sea

$100
+1000 pts
T.   Oct 21st, 9:30am
All levels
Tuesday October 21 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday September 5 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday September 7 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday September 12 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday September 14 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday September 19 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday September 21 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday September 26 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday September 28 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 3 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday October 5 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 10 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday October 12 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 17 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 24 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday October 26 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 31 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday November 2 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday November 7 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday November 9 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday November 14 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday November 16 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday November 21 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday November 23 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday November 28 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday November 30 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday December 5 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday December 7 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday December 12 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday December 14 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday December 19 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday December 21 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Friday December 26 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday December 28 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Sunday December 28 9:30am - 12pm 1 Session $100
Close
Other Dates (35)

Chances are that you’ve visited Rockefeller Center before, perhaps many times, but never like this! On the UPshot safari you will see it from the ground and from one of the tallest buildings in NYC. You begin at St. Patrick's Cathedral with its magnificent Gothic architecture and then on to Rockefeller Center where you will photograph the beauti

$120
+1200 pts
T.   Sep 2nd, 10am
All levels
Tuesday September 2 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $120
Tuesday September 9 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $120
Tuesday September 16 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $120
Tuesday September 23 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $120
Tuesday September 30 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $120
Tuesday October 7 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $120
Tuesday October 14 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $120
Tuesday October 28 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $120
Close
Other Dates (8)

This unique safari takes place inside the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Although there will be artwork to photograph, this safari is about the use of light. The amazing Metropolitan Museum of Art features many would-be outdoor spaces that are now encapsulated inside the building (the American Courtyard, the European Sculpture Court, etc.). These spac

$100
+1000 pts
F.   Sep 12th, 1pm
All levels
Friday September 12 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Sunday September 14 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday September 19 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Sunday September 21 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday September 5 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday September 26 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 3 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 10 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 24 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday October 31 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday November 7 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday November 14 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday November 21 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday November 28 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday December 5 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday December 12 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday December 19 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Friday December 26 1pm - 3pm 1 Session $100
Close
Other Dates (18)

Turn hum-drum travel photos into something to be proud of. Whether you're heading into or out of New York City, join us on this photo tour and learn to take better pictures before you start your trip. Whether it's buildings, statues, parks or your friends, this all around Photo Safari will show you how to find the best angles and lighting condition

$100
+1000 pts
Sa.   Nov 1st, 11am
All levels
Saturday November 1 11am - 1:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 8 11am - 1:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 15 11am - 1:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 22 11am - 1:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 29 11am - 1:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday December 6 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday December 13 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday December 20 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday December 27 10am - 12:30pm 1 Session $100
Close
Other Dates (9)

Turn hum-drum travel photos into something to be proud of. Whether you're heading into or out of New York City, join us on this photo tour and learn to take better pictures before you start your trip. Whether it's buildings, statues, parks or your friends, this all around Photo Safari will show you how to find the best angles and lighting condition

$100
+1000 pts
Sa.   Sep 6th, 1pm
All levels
Saturday September 6 1pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday September 20 1pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday September 27 1pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $100
Close
Other Dates (3)

Join us on this fast paced Photo Safari to explore some of New York City's most iconic buildings. Photograph Times Square, the Chrysler building, Bryant Park (home of Fashion Week), Grand Central Terminal, the New York Public Library, and the Empire State Building (at a distance). We'll show you the best vantage points to photograph these landmark

$100
+1000 pts
F.   Sep 5th, 4pm
All levels
Friday September 5 4pm - 7pm 1 Session $100
Saturday September 6 4:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday September 8 4:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday September 13 4:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday September 15 4:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday September 20 4:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday September 22 4:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday September 27 4:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday September 29 4:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday October 4 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday October 6 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday October 11 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday October 13 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday October 18 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday October 20 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday October 25 10am - 1pm 1 Session $100
Monday October 27 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 1 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday November 3 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 8 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday November 10 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 15 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday November 17 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 22 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Monday November 24 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday November 29 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday December 6 1:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday December 13 1:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday December 20 1:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $100
Saturday December 27 1:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $100
Close
Other Dates (30)

During this intensive hands-on street photography workshop you'll be shooting in or around Union Square and the Highline in nyc. Sessions will consist of realtime shooting and immediate review of the worked Photographed during class. You'll learn the basics of cityscapes composition, environmental portraiture useful for travel photography, and the

$260
+2600 pts
Th.   Sep 4th - Sep 18th, 5:15pm
All levels
Thursday September 4 5:15pm - 8:45pm 3 Sessions $260
Saturday September 6 1:45pm - 3:45pm 6 Sessions $285
Close
Other Dates (2)

You'll learn the basics of cityscapes composition, environmental portraiture useful for travel photography, and the ins and out of manipulating natural light. You will also learn to make the necessary adjustments on their camera settings to take great photos under a variety of lighting circumstances and tricky photo situations. Welcome the summer

$260
+2600 pts
Th.   Sep 4th - Sep 18th, 5:15pm
All levels
Thursday September 4 5:15pm - 8:45pm 3 Sessions $260
Saturday September 6 1:45pm - 3:45pm 6 Sessions $285
Close
Other Dates (2)

This is not a how-to, step-by-step kind of workshop. It's designed to provide stimulus and fresh challenges to the emerging shooter, as well as critical feedback and group discussion on concept and execution while on location. Who should take this class: Those who have an interest in documentary photography, photojournalism, travel photograph

$120
+1200 pts
Sa.   Sep 6th, 12pm
Intermediate
Saturday September 6 12pm - 6pm 1 Session $120
Saturday October 4 12pm - 6pm 1 Session $120
Close
Other Dates (2)

This 2-hour photography class will cover common tricks and tips for shooting street shots, lighting control techniques, focus, background, perspective, and various techniques for your next travel, candid, or city shots. Opened to all levels. Basic knowledge of your camera's function is recommended (in manual or automatic mode).

$75
+750 pts
Sa.   Sep 6th, 4:15pm
All levels
Saturday September 6 4:15pm - 6:15pm 1 Session $75
Monday September 22 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $75
Close
Other Dates (2)

In this photography course, students will be learning to capture that ephemeral feeling one senses on stumbling upon a beautiful place, a great vista, a secret alleyway. Photographing the landscape and while traveling allows us to examine our relationship with the places in which we visit or in which we live.It is an active expression of our desire

$320
+3200 pts
Th.   Sep 18th - Oct 16th, 6:30pm
Intermediate

The day is comprised of two sections NYC Street Photography Tour (includes DSLR basics) and Managing & Editing Photos. NYC Street Photography Tour 10am–1pmWe’ll begin with a 1-hour crash course in how to use your Digital SLR: setting exposure, f-stop, shutter speed, ISO and white balance. Then we’ll look at the work of some great street p

$300
+3000 pts
Sa.   Oct 18th, 10am
All levels

Students attending this class will learn the difference between a happysnap and a photograph, they will also learn the settings on your camera to ensure you never miss capturing one of those special holiday moments or captivating sunsets and make sure you have a photograph you will treasure forever. This is the workshop for the person who wants to

Now:
$66.50
Was:
$95
+665 pts
Sa.   Sep 6th, 3pm
All levels
Saturday September 6 3pm - 6pm 1 Session $66.50
Saturday September 13 3pm - 6pm 1 Session $95
Sunday September 14 2pm - 5pm 1 Session $95
Saturday September 20 3pm - 6pm 1 Session $95
Saturday September 27 3pm - 6pm 1 Session $95
Saturday October 4 3pm - 6pm 1 Session $95
Saturday October 11 3pm - 6pm 1 Session $95
Saturday October 18 3pm - 6pm 1 Session $95
Saturday October 25 3pm - 6pm 1 Session $95
Close
Other Dates (9)

Students will learn how to manage and edit photos (a digital editing workflow) using Adobe Photoshop Lightroom. What do you do with all those photos you've taken? We’ll follow a digital workflow from uploading pictures to your computer, editing and organizing your photos, basic photo processing (color balance, enhancing photos, creating B&W c

$150
+1500 pts
Sa.   Oct 18th, 2pm
All levels

Students and aspiring travel photographers learn to hone their skills in adapting travel photography. With its scope, sophistication, and diverse ethnic neighborhoods, New York is a unique travel destination and an ideal compact laboratory for aspiring travel photographers to hone their skills. While some photographers shy away from portraiture, un

$490

This workshop covers the following topics: the traveling photographer's camera and bag; being in the right place at the right time; varying the time of day and understanding light; portraying people; composition; stopping action vs. showing motion; framing and scaling; tripods; using the appropriate lens; flash basics. Making exceptional travel ph

$670

You will learn how to use light and weather to your advantage, how to compose a striking landscape photo, how to capture the spirit of a place, and more. The sun is shining, the days are getting longer and warmer, trees are blooming. After a long winter, there’s nothing better than getting outside and enjoying the gifts of spring. Join us in cele

$400

New York is one of the most exciting and intriguing cities in the world, a heterogeneous metropolis whose streets serve as a stage for a variety of unique characters and situations. In this course, students focus on capturing this special personality and vibe while developing their street photography techniques. Topics include equipmentchoices, len

$500

Students will experience photographic adventure based at an historic hacienda in Taos, one of the first European settlements in the United States. New Mexico has been described as a place of inviolate, pristine beauty, engendering an almost spiritual feeling for the land and the overwhelming sense of peacefulness. Since the1880's, photographers and

$2,830

In this master class, documentarian and wanderer Steve Simon provides tips and techniques for the traveling photographer gleaned from adventures in more than forty countries on six continents: smart planning through efficient research, choosing a location, booking and keeping costs down, what to take and in which camera bag, airport tips, safety an

$410
Need help finding a class? Call 212-729-4088 or email [email protected]
Customer Service: 212-729-4088