• Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age

Painting Classes Coming up in Los Angeles

The first “initiation” exercise that students in this class must accomplish is “Jan’s Mandala.” Jan Saether is re known Norwegian Artist,who taught in this very building at his own school “Bruchion School of Realist Art.” The mandala teaches the student first, basic skills for blending, glazing etc. and then introduces the student to a new way of “seei

$65
+650 pts
Th.   Apr 24th, 6:30pm
Beginner
Thursday April 24 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday April 30 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday May 7 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday May 7 6:30pm - 9:30pm 4 Sessions $220
Wednesday May 14 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday May 21 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday May 28 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday June 4 6:30pm - 9:30pm 4 Sessions $220
Close
Other Dates (8)

The Ultimate Gift for Makers

The CourseHorse Makers Gift Card can be used on any of the thousands of art and craft classes on CourseHorse, comes in any denomination, and never expires.

Buy a Gift Card

In this Contemporary Painting workshop...It's not about quantity...but quality. We offer a relaxed environment in which to explore your own ideas and interpretations using different materials and even the ones you are comfortable with. We don't necessarily "throw the baby out with the bath water" because even contemporary art follows principles of design, composition,

$65
+650 pts
Th.   Apr 24th, 7pm
All levels
Thursday April 24 7pm - 10pm 1 Session $65
Thursday May 1 7pm - 10pm 1 Session $65
Thursday May 1 7pm - 10pm 5 Sessions $275
Thursday May 8 7pm - 10pm 1 Session $65
Thursday May 15 7pm - 10pm 1 Session $65
Thursday May 22 7pm - 10pm 1 Session $65
Thursday May 29 7pm - 10pm 1 Session $65
Thursday June 5 7pm - 10pm 4 Sessions $220
Close
Other Dates (8)

The students will learn how to form ideas instead of just painting objects.

$65
+650 pts
F.   Apr 25th, 11am
All levels
Friday April 25 11am - 3pm 1 Session $65
Friday May 23 11am - 3pm 1 Session $65
Friday May 30 11am - 3pm 1 Session $65
Friday June 27 11am - 3pm 1 Session $65
Friday July 25 11am - 3pm 1 Session $65
Friday August 22 11am - 3pm 1 Session $65
Close
Other Dates (6)

Students learn the basics of the color wheel and then paint a simple still life painting from observation in a casual atmosphere. BYOB at this session is welcome.

$60
+600 pts
F.   Apr 25th, 6:30pm
Beginner
Friday April 25 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday April 26 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday April 30 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Close
Other Dates (3)

This class focuses on fundamental painting and drawing techniques.

$100
+1000 pts
Sa.   Apr 26th, 10am
All levels
Saturday April 26 10am - 4pm 1 Session $100
Saturday May 3 10am - 4pm 1 Session $100
Saturday May 10 10am - 4pm 1 Session $100
Saturday May 17 10am - 4pm 1 Session $100
Saturday May 24 10am - 4pm 1 Session $100
Saturday May 31 10am - 4pm 1 Session $100
Close
Other Dates (6)

Learn a system of abstract painting. Learn how to work with emotion, color, rhythm. Learn how to maximize a provocative composition. Overview on building a body of abstract work for Gallery Please note: Supplies are not included in this class. Please go to http://www.klineacademy.com/KApages/classes.htm for more information and a list of supplies.

$65
+650 pts
M.   Apr 28th, 6:30pm
All levels
Monday April 28 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday April 29 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Monday May 5 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Monday May 5 6:30pm - 9:30pm 3 Sessions $165
Tuesday May 6 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday May 6 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $220
Monday May 12 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday May 13 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Monday May 19 6:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday May 20 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday May 27 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Monday June 2 6:30pm - 9:30pm 5 Sessions $275
Tuesday June 3 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $220
Close
Other Dates (13)

In this class you will be introduced to several basic watercolor techniques from loading and holding a brush with paint - to mixing light and dark colors, through demos such a simple Landscapes. You will learn about layering washes - and why this is so important - and how to achieve the best possible results. Please note: Supplies are not included in this class. Plea

$65
+650 pts
T.   Apr 29th, 10am
Beginner
Tuesday April 29 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday May 6 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday May 6 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $220
Tuesday May 13 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday May 20 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday May 27 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Tuesday June 3 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $220
Close
Other Dates (7)

Our Portrait Painting class is taught in oil paint and begins by introducing students to the basic shape of the head and how to find accurate proportions. Blocking in using large bold shapes and eliminating any detail makes the beginning process much easier. Anyone can learn to draw or paint portraits...you just have to want it badly enough and don't expect Rembrandt

$65
+650 pts
W.   Apr 30th, 2pm
All levels
Wednesday April 30 2pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday May 7 2pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday May 7 2pm - 5pm 4 Sessions $220
Wednesday May 14 2pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday May 21 2pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday May 28 2pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Wednesday June 4 2pm - 5pm 4 Sessions $220
Close
Other Dates (7)

Relax after a hard day's work while exploring your inner Rembrandt.

$25
+250 pts
W.   Apr 30th, 6pm
All levels
Wednesday April 30 6pm - 7pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday May 7 6pm - 7pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday May 14 6pm - 7pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday May 21 6pm - 7pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday May 28 6pm - 7pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday June 4 6pm - 7pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (6)

Taking a class with friends or coworkers? Explore private event options

Intermediate/Advanced classes help students develop a personal art-making vocabulary. Learn how to mix, blend and apply paint to create form, surface and space.

$275
+2750 pts
Th.   May 1st - Jun 5th, 10am
Intermediate

Our Outdoor Landscape Painting Class meets in scenic and urban areas around the city. This is a great class to hone your skills in the fine art of landscape painting. STUDENTS LEARN: -Color mixing -Working in an outdoor environment -Blocking in big shapes -Composition -Oil or Pastel -Live Demonstrations -Personalized Instruction Please note: Supplies are not incl

$65
+650 pts
F.   May 2nd, 10am
All levels
Friday May 2 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Friday May 2 10am - 1pm 5 Sessions $275
Friday May 9 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Friday May 16 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Friday May 23 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Friday May 30 10am - 1pm 1 Session $65
Friday June 6 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $220
Close
Other Dates (7)

Through short and long poses, the class will focus on gesture, anatomy, expression, structure, and costume.

$140
+1400 pts
F.   May 2nd - May 30th, 7pm
All levels

Learn the basic painting acrylic and watercolors brush stroke techniques.

$65
+650 pts
F.   May 2nd - May 30th, 7pm
Beginner

You will learn how to handle the sumi ink and brush, from the basic strokes to the principles of composition that will enable you to make yourown Chinese landscape painting.

$123
+1230 pts
Sa.   May 3rd, 10am
All levels
Saturday May 3 10am - 4pm 1 Session $123
Saturday May 3 10am - 4pm 2 Sessions $203
Sunday May 4 10am - 4pm 1 Session $123
Close
Other Dates (3)

Are you an emerging artist who has studied technique but still want to develop and hone your artistic voice... reintroducing you to your own painting vocabulary and preparing you, your work and your artists statement to be released from the studio to the public? If so then this is a workshop for you. Study together in a small group setting with other emerging artists

$300
+3000 pts
M.   May 5th - Jun 9th, 10am
Advanced
Need help finding a class? Call 212-729-4088 or email [email protected]