Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Modern Dance Classes NYC

56 classes
View All NYC Modern Dance Schools
  • Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age
  • Date:
    Starts
    Ends
    Times:
    Days:
    Close
  • Skill Level:
    Close
  • Neighborhoods:
    Close
  • Price:
    $0 $1,000

    Currently viewing classes from:
    $0 to $1000

    Close

Modern Dance Classes Coming up in New York

This class on Basic Modern dance introduces you to Horton Technique which incorporates diverse elements like Native American Folk Dance, Japanese gestures, Afro-Caribbean isolations.Students who are 15 to 17 years old should have a parent/guardian present on the first day of class to sign up a release form.

$18
T.   Dec 23rd, 7pm
Beginner
Tuesday December 23 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday December 30 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday January 6 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday January 13 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday January 20 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday January 27 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday February 3 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday February 10 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday February 17 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday February 24 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday March 3 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday March 10 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday March 17 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday March 24 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday March 31 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday April 7 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday April 14 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday April 21 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday April 28 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday May 5 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday May 12 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday May 19 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Tuesday May 26 7pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $18
Close
Other Dates (23)

Modern attire: leotard, leggings or sweat pants or tights at ankles; barefoot

$18
Th.   Jan 8th, 7pm
Beginner
Thursday January 8 7pm - 8pm 1 Session $18
Thursday January 15 7pm - 8pm 1 Session $18
Thursday January 22 7pm - 8pm 1 Session $18
Thursday January 29 7pm - 8pm 1 Session $18
Close
Other Dates (4)

This is offered at Advance levels. Utilizing the skills of today’s choreographers, and the sounds of today’s music, these classes offer an extreme workout.

$320
W.   Feb 4th - Jun 24th, 6:30pm
Advanced

This is offered at basic and intermediate levels. Utilizing the skills of today’s choreographers, and the sounds of today’s music, these classes offer an extreme workout. This is offered at basic and intermediate levels. Utilizing the skills of today’s choreographers, and the sounds of today’s music, these classes offer an extreme workout....

$320
M.   Feb 9th - Jun 22nd, 5:30pm
Beginner

This is offered at basic and intermediate levels. Utilizing the skills of today’s choreographers, and the sounds of today’s music, these classes offer an extreme workout. This is offered at basic and intermediate levels. Utilizing the skills of today’s choreographers, and the sounds of today’s music, these classes offer an extreme workout....

$320
M.   Feb 9th - Jun 22nd, 6:30pm
Beginner

Shakira Marshall, one of the FELA! queens, returns to Cumbe with Afro-Soca! Whine your hips to the upbeat, tropical rhythms of Soca music and learn other popular Caribbean dances in this workshop that fuses both African and Caribbean dance styles. Dance movements take their inspiration from various forms: traditional West African, Congolese, Caribbean...

$15
F.   Dec 26th, 7:30pm
All levels
(11)

Students will learn the New York Style Salsa: it is danced on the second beat of the music ("on 2"), and the follower steps forward on the first measure of the music, not the leader. Salsa on 2 is the modern version of the Mambo, a partnered dance created in New York city to the music of the same name composed by Perez Prado in the 1940's and 50's...

$15
T.   Dec 23rd, 6:30pm
Beginner
(1)
Tuesday December 23 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $15
Tuesday December 30 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $15
Close
Other Dates (2)

The class will engage students in beginner level dance movement and terminology through core strength training, body conditioning, and mind/spirit building exercises. The class movement style is inspired by African diasporic dances and African rhythms and sounds. Allow your spirit to experience the fullness of space, and your range of movement through...

$15
Sa.   Dec 20th, 11am
All levels
(11)
Saturday December 20 11am - 12:30pm 1 Session $15
Saturday December 27 11am - 12:30pm 1 Session $15
Close
Other Dates (2)

In May 2003, Dardo Galletto began gathering together dancers to face a new challenge. His goal: overcome cross-cultural barriers and tango stereotypes generally associated with the slums of Buenos Aires, the cabaret and the French salon.Mr. Galletto has cultivated a unique and distinctive identity by blending the language of movement (tango, ballet,...

$25
Su.   Dec 21st, 1:30pm
All levels
(1)
Sunday December 21 1:30pm - 2:30pm 1 Session $25
Sunday December 28 1:30pm - 2:30pm 1 Session $25
Sunday January 4 1:30pm - 2:30pm 1 Session $25
Sunday January 11 1:30pm - 2:30pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (4)

The CourseHorse Gift Card

The CourseHorse Gift Card can be used on any of the 35,000 classes on CourseHorse, comes in any denomination and never expires.

Buy a Gift Card

In May 2003, Dardo Galletto began gathering together dancers to face a new challenge. His goal: overcome cross-cultural barriers and tango stereotypes generally associated with the slums of Buenos Aires, the cabaret and the French salon. Mr. Galletto has cultivated a unique and distinctive identity by blending the language of movement (tango, ballet,...

$10
Su.   Dec 21st, 2:30pm
Beginner
(1)
Sunday December 21 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $10
Sunday December 28 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $10
Sunday January 4 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $10
Sunday January 11 2:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session $10
Close
Other Dates (4)

This bollywood dance class (Bollywood Filmy) is a combination of modern filmy steps with classical gestures to create expression and graceful movements. This class brings discipline to the body and helps keep you in shape. Although this bollywood dance class is more geared towards dance and its rhythms, we still don't fail to make it a fun learning...

$15
M.   Dec 22nd, 7:30pm
All levels
(5)
Monday December 22 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $15
Monday December 29 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $15
Monday January 5 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $15
Thursday January 8 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $15
Monday January 12 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $15
Monday February 23 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $15
Close
Other Dates (6)

Introduction to the basics of Ballet. No experience needed.This class is an organic and logical approach to ballet exercise with an emphasis on easy access to balance, agility, and musicality. The techniques learned in this class are also very applicable to jazz, modern, tap, and hip-hop.Students who are 15 to 17 years old should have a parent/guardian...

$18
M.   Dec 22nd, 7:30pm
Beginner
Monday December 22 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday December 25 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday December 29 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday January 1 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday January 5 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday January 8 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday January 12 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday January 15 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday January 19 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday January 22 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday January 26 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday January 29 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday February 2 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday February 5 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday February 9 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday February 12 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday February 16 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday February 19 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday February 23 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday February 26 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday March 2 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday March 5 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday March 9 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday March 12 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday March 16 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday March 19 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday March 23 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday March 26 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday March 30 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday April 2 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday April 6 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday April 9 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday April 13 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday April 16 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday April 20 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday April 23 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday April 27 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday April 30 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday May 4 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday May 7 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday May 11 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday May 14 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday May 18 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday May 21 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday May 25 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Thursday May 28 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Monday June 1 7:30pm - 8:45pm 1 Session $18
Close
Other Dates (47)

In May 2003, Dardo Galletto began gathering together dancers to face a new challenge. His goal: overcome cross-cultural barriers and tango stereotypes generally associated with the slums of Buenos Aires, the cabaret and the French salon. Mr. Galletto has cultivated a unique and distinctive identity by blending the language of movement (tango, ballet,...

$25
M.   Dec 22nd, 6:30pm
Beginner
(1)
Monday December 22 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday December 29 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday January 5 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (3)

In May 2003, Dardo Galletto began gathering together dancers to face a new challenge. His goal: overcome cross-cultural barriers and tango stereotypes generally associated with the slums of Buenos Aires, the cabaret and the French salon.Mr. Galletto has cultivated a unique and distinctive identity by blending the language of movement (tango, ballet,...

$25
M.   Dec 22nd, 7:30pm
Intermediate
(1)
Monday December 22 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday December 29 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday January 5 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (3)

In May 2003, Dardo Galletto began gathering together dancers to face a new challenge. His goal: overcome cross-cultural barriers and tango stereotypes generally associated with the slums of Buenos Aires, the cabaret and the French salon. Mr. Galletto has cultivated a unique and distinctive identity by blending the language of movement (tango, ballet,...

$25
W.   Jan 7th, 8:30pm
All levels
(1)
Wednesday January 7 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday January 14 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (2)

This class, in Middle Eastern dance (Bellydance) is structured in an 8 week series of choreography and technique. The class includes alignment/centering, warm-up, technique, choreography, and closes with improvisation. Sherine is a passionate and devoted teacher that offers a nurturing and joyous atmosphere for students to learn, both, the technique...

$15
W.   Jan 7th, 6:30pm
Beginner
Wednesday January 7 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $15
Wednesday January 14 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $15
Wednesday January 21 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $15
Wednesday January 28 6:30pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $15
Close
Other Dates (4)

Students enrolled in this class will learn the fundamentals of the modern style Bachata which has become a huge sensation in Dominican republic and around the world. The main focus in this course is for the student to build a strong foundation in both footwork and partner work as well as leading and following techniques, while gaining a better understanding...

$20
M.   Jan 5th, 8:30pm
Beginner
Monday January 5 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday January 12 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday January 19 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday January 26 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday February 2 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday February 9 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday February 16 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday February 23 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday March 2 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday March 9 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday March 16 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday March 23 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Monday March 30 8:30pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $20
Close
Other Dates (13)

In May 2003, Dardo Galletto began gathering together dancers to face a new challenge. His goal: overcome cross-cultural barriers and tango stereotypes generally associated with the slums of Buenos Aires, the cabaret and the French salon.Mr. Galletto has cultivated a unique and distinctive identity by blending the language of movement (tango, ballet,...

$25
M.   Jan 5th, 8:30pm
Intermediate
(1)

In May 2003, Dardo Galletto began gathering together dancers to face a new challenge. His goal: overcome cross-cultural barriers and tango stereotypes generally associated with the slums of Buenos Aires, the cabaret and the French salon.Mr. Galletto has cultivated a unique and distinctive identity by blending the language of movement (tango, ballet,...

$25
W.   Jan 7th, 5:30pm
Intermediate
(1)
Wednesday January 7 5:30pm - 6:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday January 14 5:30pm - 6:30pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (2)

In May 2003, Dardo Galletto began gathering together dancers to face a new challenge. His goal: overcome cross-cultural barriers and tango stereotypes generally associated with the slums of Buenos Aires, the cabaret and the French salon.Mr. Galletto has cultivated a unique and distinctive identity by blending the language of movement (tango, ballet,...

$25
F.   Dec 26th, 7:30pm
Intermediate
(1)
Friday December 26 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Friday January 2 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday January 7 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Thursday January 8 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Friday January 9 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday January 14 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Thursday January 15 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Friday January 16 7:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (8)
Need help finding a class? Call 212-729-4088 or email [email protected]
Customer Service: 212-729-4088