Improv Classes NYC

86 classes
  • Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age

Improv Classes Coming up in New York

Improvise scene after scene, students will also learn to look for connections and patterns that give the scenes depth, and focusing on the nuances of scenic improvisation. This class focuses entirely on the nuances of scenic improvisation. Students do scene after scene, learning to look for connections and patterns that give the scenes depth.Topics

$350
+3500 pts
Th.   Sep 11th - Oct 30th, 6:30pm
Intermediate

An ongoing drop-in class, for anyone who wants a quick tour of the improv world. The class, for all levels, features performers from the cast of Sunday Night Improv. You can do scenes with veteran improv—and then stay and see them perform in Sunday Night Improv!Class fee includes a ticket to that night's performance of SNI.

$10
+100 pts
Su.   Sep 7th, 5:30pm
All levels
Sunday September 7 5:30pm - 6:30pm 1 Session $10
Sunday September 14 5:30pm - 6:30pm 1 Session $10
Sunday September 21 5:30pm - 6:30pm 1 Session $10
Sunday September 28 5:30pm - 6:30pm 1 Session $10
Close
Other Dates (4)

This drop-in class combines elements of both “long form” and “short form” improvisation; focusing on truthful, relationship-based scene work.Chicago City Limits alumnus Carl Kissin and SNI producer Tom Soter offer advanced techniques for improvised comedy. Geared for students with previous improv or acting experience, but beginners welcome.

$30
+300 pts
W.   Sep 3rd, 6:30pm
Advanced
Wednesday September 3 6:30pm - 9pm 1 Session $30
Wednesday September 10 6:30pm - 9pm 1 Session $30
Wednesday September 17 6:30pm - 9pm 1 Session $30
Wednesday September 24 6:30pm - 9pm 1 Session $30
Close
Other Dates (4)

This course is an ongoing drop-in class that focuses on how to create improvised scenes and stories. Students are taught the basics of good scene work in a supportive environment. "Our design department's Improv 'theory and practice' sessions with Tom Soter were a remarkable experience for all of us. Over a two week period, the New York Design

$25
+250 pts
M.   Sep 8th, 7pm
All levels
Monday September 8 7pm - 9pm 1 Session $25
Monday September 15 7pm - 9pm 1 Session $25
Monday September 22 7pm - 9pm 1 Session $25
Monday September 29 7pm - 9pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (4)

Join our class and learn from Carol Schindler, a founding member of the highly acclaimed Chicago City Limits improv troupe and a former student of improv legends Del Close (SECOND CITY) and Paul Sills (THE COMPASS PLAYERS) teaches a four-hour improv intensive for advanced improvisers.

$60
+600 pts
Sa.   Sep 13th, 1pm
All levels
Saturday September 13 1pm - 5pm 1 Session $60
Saturday October 11 1pm - 5pm 1 Session $60
Saturday November 8 1pm - 5pm 1 Session $60
Close
Other Dates (3)

Learn to create fun, emotionally charged improv scenes that launch perfectly into song, and craft songs which your audience will be humming for days. Stefan Wenger and Rachel Bouton are teaching a new All Levels Musical Improv class where we will explore musicality, freedom, and playfulness in musical improv. Learn to create musicals in the moment

$140
+1400 pts
Su.   Sep 21st - Oct 26th, 1pm
All levels

This class introduces students to the fundamentals of improvisation. Through exercises and games, students will learn the basic skills of improv and have fun developing their spontaneity, playfulness, imagination, and confidence. Improv is an essential skill for any actor, and it’s a useful one for life, as well. No experience necessary.

$325
+3250 pts
Th.   Sep 25th - Nov 13th, 6:30pm
Beginner
Thursday September 25 6:30pm - 9:30pm 8 Sessions $325
Sunday October 5 2:30pm - 5:30pm 8 Sessions $325
Close
Other Dates (2)

Improv 404 focuses on successfully using genre in performance. Genre parody is common in sketch comedy, but often avoided in performance improvisation. 404 provides a survey of the most common categories of genres/styles.Prerequisite: Improv 303

$250
+2500 pts
Sa.   Nov 1st - Dec 13th, 3pm
All levels

Learn how to 'Say Yes to Saying Yes'! Initiate scenes, build on scene partner's suggestions and build a foundation in scene creating. This class focuses on the basics of comedic improvisation. Students learn how to initiate scenes, build upon their scene partners' offers, and create scenes with a solid foundation.Topics covered include:Agreement (

$350
+3500 pts
T.   Sep 16th - Nov 4th, 6:30pm
Beginner

Students attending this class will have a chance to meet, mingle and make funny. Open to all improvisers, from every improv training school and skill level. Free networking event. You don't want to miss these. You can create, network, mingle, improvise.

Free
+0 pts
Sa.   Sep 6th, 3:30pm
All levels
Saturday September 6 3:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session Free
Saturday September 13 3:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session Free
Saturday September 20 3:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session Free
Saturday September 27 3:30pm - 5:30pm 1 Session Free
Close
Other Dates (4)

Students will learn the foundation principles of Improv - great way to be introduced before diving deeper! This class focuses on the basics of comedic improvisation. Students learn how to initiate scenes, build upon their scene partners' offers, and create scenes with a solid foundation. Topics covered include: agreement (“yes and”); active lis

$30
+300 pts
Sa.   Sep 6th, 12pm
Beginner
Saturday September 6 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $30
Sunday October 5 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $30
Close
Other Dates (2)

This intro class will begin to enhance your skills in public speaking, focused listening, responding, flexibility and specificity – leading to greater confidence and lower inhibitions when speaking or presenting. Improvisation is not just something for actors and comedians. MBA Students are being asked to take improv classes. Why? The answer is t

Now:
$33.25
Was:
$35
+332.5 pts
M.   Sep 29th, 7pm
Beginner

Learn about short form and long form improv comedy class. Improvisational Theatre, often called improv or impro, is a form of theater where most or all of what is performed is created at the moment it is performed. In its purest form, the dialogue, the action, the story and the characters are created collaboratively by the players as the impro

$13
+130 pts
W.   Sep 3rd, 8:30pm
All levels
Wednesday September 3 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday September 10 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday September 17 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday September 24 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday October 1 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday October 8 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday October 15 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday October 22 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday October 29 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday November 5 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday November 12 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday November 19 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday November 26 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday December 3 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday December 10 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday December 17 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday December 24 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Wednesday December 31 8:30pm - 10:30pm 1 Session $13
Close
Other Dates (18)

This intensive will focus on Improv as it relates strictly to commercials. You'll learn to mime eating, talking and reacting in a restaurant scene; activities thrown at you "in the moment"; taking a script and putting it into your own words; improvising dialogue before the written script starts and after it ends; creating an instant character fully

$99
+990 pts
M.   Sep 29th, 10am
All levels

In this class, you’ll learn the fundamentals of improvisation! Through warm-ups, exercises and games, we help improve skills such as listening, teamwork, trust, public speaking, instinct, and agreement, all while laughing and learning. Classes are two hours long and take place once a week for 6 weeks. Classes are lead by an expert facilitator, an

$250
+2500 pts
Sa.   Sep 6th - Oct 11th, 12pm
All levels

Mixed level class, open to existing students and visitors. The focus of this class is to improve capoeira basics thanks to a more challengingtraining. It introduces fast-paced rhythms and acrobatics.Beginners can attend this class once they have learned the basic movements of defense/attack and in-betweens. The class is conducted according to the l

$25
+250 pts
T.   Sep 2nd, 8pm
All levels
Tuesday September 2 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday September 3 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday September 6 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday September 8 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday September 9 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday September 10 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday September 13 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday September 15 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday September 16 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday September 17 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday September 20 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday September 22 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday September 23 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday September 24 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday September 27 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday September 29 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday September 30 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday October 1 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday October 4 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday October 6 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday October 7 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday October 8 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday October 11 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday October 13 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday October 14 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday October 15 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday October 18 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday October 20 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday October 21 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday October 22 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday October 25 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday October 27 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday October 28 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday October 29 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday November 1 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday November 3 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday November 4 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday November 5 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday November 8 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday November 10 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday November 11 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday November 12 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday November 15 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday November 17 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday November 18 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday November 19 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday November 22 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday November 25 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday November 26 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday November 29 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday December 1 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday December 2 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday December 3 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday December 6 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday December 8 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday December 9 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday December 10 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday December 13 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday December 15 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday December 16 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Wednesday December 17 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday December 20 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday December 22 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday December 23 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Saturday December 27 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Monday December 29 6pm - 7:30pm 1 Session $25
Tuesday December 30 8pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $25
Close
Other Dates (67)

This three week class will enhance your skills in public speaking, focused listening, responding, flexibility and specificity – leading to greater confidence and lower inhibitions when speaking and presenting. Improvisation is not just something for actors and comedians. MBA Students are being asked to take improv classes. Why? The answer is the

Now:
$79.20
Was:
$99
+792 pts
Th.   Sep 4th - Sep 25th, 6pm
All levels
Thursday September 4 6pm - 7:30pm 3 Sessions $79.20
Thursday September 4 8pm - 9:30pm 3 Sessions $74.25
Close
Other Dates (2)

In the morning session, students will work on script analysis and scene study. Take a lunch break, then return to work in improv.Students can arrive as early as 9am and pick up is by 6:30pm

$100
+1000 pts
Th.   Sep 25th, 10am
All levels

At the end of this workshop, you will feel more confident about making an impact in your day-to-day communication and building stronger connections with others through the daily practice of journaling and weekly exercises in using your body, voice, heart and brain to bring your thoughts and feelings to life. Find your voice and get what you want.W

$350
+3500 pts
W.   Oct 15th - Nov 19th, 7pm
All levels

The goal of the class is to develop and hone the actor's instincts so instead of working from their intellect they work from their gut. Please do not register for this class if you are not interested in completing my program. This class was created for serious acting students that are interested in working at a professional level. Students interest

$200
+2000 pts
T.   Sep 2nd - Sep 23rd, 7pm
All levels
Tuesday September 2 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday September 6 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday September 9 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday September 13 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday September 16 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday September 20 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday September 23 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday September 27 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday September 30 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday October 4 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday October 7 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday October 11 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday October 14 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday October 18 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday October 21 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday October 25 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday October 28 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday November 1 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday November 4 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday November 8 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday November 11 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday November 15 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday November 18 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday November 22 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday November 25 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday November 29 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday December 2 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday December 6 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday December 9 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday December 13 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday December 16 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday December 20 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday December 23 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Saturday December 27 12pm - 3pm 4 Sessions $200
Tuesday December 30 7pm - 10:45pm 4 Sessions $200
Close
Other Dates (35)
Need help finding a class? Call 212-729-4088 or email [email protected]
Customer Service: 212-729-4088