Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.
  • Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age

Drawing Classes Coming up in New York

Special School Offer!
15% Off Bird River Studios Gift Cards! Learn More >

This class is an introduction to figure drawing for beginners who have never drawn before or those wanting more practice working from a live model. Proportion, spatial concepts, light qualities and techniques in materials such as pencil, watercolor and ink will be covered. Note: Many supplies provided, bring a spiral drawing pad that is 11 x 1

$185
Sa.   Oct 25th - Nov 22nd, 11:30am
All levels

The course is designed as an introduction to basic drawing techniques and drawing the nude model. Instructor will provide fundamental techniques to train the eye how to draw what you see. Basic drawing skills will be taught using line, shading, proportions, action line and contrapposto. Primarily working in pencil and charcoal on newsprint and draw

$350
T.   Oct 7th - Dec 2nd, 6:30pm
Beginner

Learn how to see and find your own individual level of drawing success by working from a live model. You’ll focus on the key elements of drawing, such as light and shadow, shape, value, and soft and hard edges, creating the structural forms of the human figure. Learn the essence of your materials, be it charcoal, graphite, or colored pencil to de

$250
T.   Nov 4th - Jan 13th, 4pm
All levels
Tuesday November 4 4pm - 7pm 8 Sessions $250
Wednesday November 5 7pm - 10pm 8 Sessions $250
Close
Other Dates (2)
Special School Offer!
15% Off Bird River Studios Gift Cards! Learn More >

This class is an introduction to drawing for beginners who want to learn the basics and artists who want some feedback. We will explore line, what is considered the essence of Drawing, drawing both objects and figures. Form, value and texture will be approached later on to give the student a well-balanced introduction to the art of drawing.

$200
W.   Oct 22nd - Dec 3rd, 6:30pm
Beginner

Students attending this class will learn the many aspects of drawing a still life and the figure, working from live models. In this class, students will focus on the basics and more advanced concepts will begin to easily translate a three dimensional experience onto a two dimensional surface. Charcoal, pastels and oil pastels will be provided. Flor

$460
M.   Oct 13th - Dec 15th, 1:30pm
Beginner

Understanding the basics of drawing the figure allows you to organize light, shade, gesture and rhythm into a single expressive whole. Working individually with the instructor, you’ll be introduced to varied drawing approaches and techniques, and develop your skills and insights. Open to students of all levels.Photo courtesy of: David Plakke Medi

$250
Sa.   Nov 8th - Jan 17th, 1pm
All levels

Draw/sketch from a live model.Bring your own art supplies. Open to all levels.Note: Classes are taught in the lower levels of GLLAM (Gallery La La Artisan Market). GLLAM is a boutique/gallery in Soho featuring the work of Independent Designers.

$20
Su.   Oct 19th, 11am
All levels
Sunday October 19 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Sunday October 26 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Friday October 31 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Wednesday October 1 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Thursday October 2 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Friday October 3 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Saturday October 4 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Sunday October 5 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Sunday October 5 4pm - 6pm 1 Session $20
Monday October 6 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Tuesday October 7 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Wednesday October 8 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Thursday October 9 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Friday October 10 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Saturday October 11 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Sunday October 12 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Monday October 13 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Tuesday October 14 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Wednesday October 15 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Thursday October 16 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Friday October 17 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Saturday October 18 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Sunday October 19 4pm - 6pm 1 Session $20
Monday October 20 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Tuesday October 21 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Wednesday October 22 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Thursday October 23 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Friday October 24 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Saturday October 25 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Sunday October 26 4pm - 6pm 1 Session $20
Monday October 27 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Tuesday October 28 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Wednesday October 29 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Thursday October 30 11am - 1pm 1 Session $20
Sunday October 12 4pm - 6pm 1 Session $20
Close
Other Dates (35)

This class will give students the basics necessary to draw and paint the human face. Learn how to use light and shadow to create the 3D forms of the human head. A live model will be used each session. The class will start with one-day poses, then will progressively work into longer, multiple-week poses. Note: Drawing supplies will be emailed a wee

$275
M.   Nov 24th - Jan 12th, 12pm
All levels

Students will learn basic drawing techniques inspired by still life in a relaxed environment. No experience necessary. Supplies will be provided during the first class.

$295
Th.   Oct 30th - Dec 18th, 7pm
Beginner

Broaden your understanding of the artistic, technical, and historical aspects of art through an intensive study of drawing. Work from the basic gestures, forms, and structures of the live model, supplementing your studio time with museum visits and art historical lectures. This is a progressive yearlong course, though students can join each new Ses

$1,069
M.   Nov 3rd, 9am
All levels
Monday November 3 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday November 4 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday November 5 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday November 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday November 11 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday November 12 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday November 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday November 18 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday November 19 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday November 24 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday November 25 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday November 26 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday December 1 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday December 2 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday December 3 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday December 8 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday December 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday December 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday December 15 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday December 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday December 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday December 22 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday December 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday December 24 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday December 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday December 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday December 31 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday January 5 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday January 6 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday January 7 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Monday January 12 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Tuesday January 13 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Wednesday January 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $1,069
Close
Other Dates (33)

This class is an introduction to drawing for absolute beginner to learn the basics. We will explore the versatility of pencil and charcoal to draw from observation using line, gesture, shape, value and texture to record and interpret reality.Materials List:Wide range of pencils from HB (mid-tone) to 6B (Dark) and from 2H (light) to 4H (very light)S

$315
M.   Oct 6th - Dec 1st, 6:30pm
Beginner
Special School Offer!
15% Off Bird River Studios Gift Cards! Learn More >

Get a couple of friends together for a series of summer drawing nights that will have you getting your line, shape and shading on! Kayti will lead with a demo on the technique of the night such as blind contour of a still life, or contrast with white pastel on black paper.Sign up for one, a few, or all- beverages and supplies provided!Multi-session

$45
W.   Oct 1st, 6:30pm
All levels
Wednesday October 1 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $45
Wednesday October 8 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $45
Wednesday October 15 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $45
Close
Other Dates (3)

Do you ever wish you could capture the details of a plant long after you've seen it? This intro class teaches you how to make realistic drawings of plants using a variety of techniques. Learn to draw a selection of plant parts, including branches, stems, leaves, and flowers, for pleasure or to expand your drawing skills.Recommended Textbooks:Botani

$229
Th.   Feb 12th - Mar 5th, 10am
Beginner
Special School Offer!
15% Off Bird River Studios Gift Cards! Learn More >

This class is for those students and artists who have taken a Beginners class and are looking for a structured setting to pursue their own projects, receive feedback, or draw from life. Shared class materials are on hand or you can bring in materials of your choice.

$200
Th.   Oct 23rd - Dec 4th, 6:30pm
Intermediate

Acquaint yourself with the idea of Modernism through drawing. Modernism is a point of view about art that prioritizes visual structure and personal discovery over making a product. It is a way of seeing both art’s creation and the history that went before it. Raise your level of visual understanding through drawing from the figure and various sit

$250
M.   Nov 3rd - Jan 12th, 4pm
All levels

If drawing is the infrastructure, color is the magic. Combining the two is the key to creating a work of art. This course provides the tools to transcribe a perceptual experience in color to a piece of paper. Working media will include color pencils, watercolor and gouache. The emphasis will be on observation from nature and each class is designed

$250
T.   Nov 4th - Jan 13th, 7pm
All levels

Attention introverts! Why make art alone? You can’t socialize alone, so collaborate, commune, and commiserate with artists in an informal atmosphere designed to synthesize creative minds and improve technique. Each session features a guest host who will curate the evening’s project and music. Bring your favorite libation.

$10
W.   Nov 19th, 7pm
All levels
Wednesday November 19 7pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $10
Wednesday October 22 7pm - 9:30pm 1 Session $10
Close
Other Dates (2)

Working from the life model, participants will explore the craft of representational figure drawing and will learn techniques by which to develop solid, naturalistic figure drawings. Through demonstrations and hands-on practice we will consider an approach aimed at increasing skills of perceptual observation and manual application while suggesting

$425
M.T.W.Th.F.   Oct 6th - Oct 10th, 9am
All levels
Special School Offer!
10% Off The Art Studio NY Gift Cards! Learn More >

Can’t draw a straight line? No creative bone in your body? Everyone can draw, including you! In this 90-minute drawing class crash course, jump into the world of self-expression through drawing. In this encouraging and fear-free beginner’s drawing class, you will:Learn basic drawing techniques, including line, composition, gesture, and shadingE

$29
W.   Nov 19th, 5pm
Beginner
Wednesday November 19 5pm - 6:30pm 1 Session $29
Tuesday October 21 2pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $29
Tuesday December 9 5pm - 6:30pm 1 Session $29
Close
Other Dates (3)

Learn to draw from observation, and create beautiful, full-colored drawings using professional techniques. This class is for beginners, intermediate and advanced students. Previous drawing knowledge is not necessary. Merryl will be working with students individually at their level to create their drawings.

$399
M.   Oct 20th - Dec 22nd, 10:30am
All levels
Need help finding a class? Call 212-729-4088 or email [email protected]
Customer Service: 212-729-4088