Here's $10 towards your first class. Join for free

Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Beginner Painting Classes LA

58 classes
Follow following this category
  • Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age
  • Date:
    Starts on
    Ends by
    Times:
    Days:
    Close
  • Skill Level:
    Close
  • Neighborhoods:
    Close
  • Price:
    $0 $1,000

    Currently viewing classes from:
    $0 to $1000

    Close

Beginner Painting Classes Coming up in Los Angeles

This class will get you started in basic painting acrylic and watercolors brush stroke techniques with emphasis on understanding/experiencing color composition, value and design impact. Bring basic watercolor set, pad of watercolor paper, brushes and pencil to 1st meeting. Instructor will address additional materials in class.

$65
F.   Sep 18th, 7pm
Beginner
(76)
Friday September 18 7pm - 8:30pm 5 Sessions $65
Friday October 23 7pm - 8:30pm 5 Sessions $65
Close
Other Dates (2)

The Adult Program is held in our studio and provides weekly classes of two or three hours multiple times during the week. "For the past 20 years, I have been interested in all forms of art but would describe myself as a frustrated no-talented artist. I persevered by taking many, many oil painting classes through the years. Then I found Moses at The...

$165
W.   Sep 2nd, 10am
All levels
Wednesday September 2 10am - 1pm 5 Sessions $165
Thursday September 3 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $165
Saturday September 5 9am - 12pm 4 Sessions $165
Thursday October 1 10am - 1pm 5 Sessions $165
Saturday October 3 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $165
Wednesday October 7 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $165
Close
Other Dates (6)
Be first to know about new beginner painting classes

Add this topic and we'll let you know about new classes, trending topics and last minute discounts

The Teen/Adult Program is held in our studio and provides weekly classes of two or three hours multiple times during the week. "I have been enjoying art classes for the past eight years, thanks to the most patient art teacher ever; Moses. I attend here at The Art Studio of Pasadena with the widest smile and excitement. I feel like I step into a different...

$155
Sa.   Sep 5th, 3pm
All levels
Saturday September 5 3pm - 5pm 4 Sessions $155
Saturday October 3 3pm - 5pm 5 Sessions $155
Saturday November 7 3pm - 5pm 4 Sessions $155
Close
Other Dates (3)

This course is an introduction to face painting. Participants will learn the free-hand stroke skills necessary to create swirls, teardrops, curlicues, dots and spots, stroke leaves, and teardrop flowers.  Topics will also include tool and make up selection, loading your brush with multiple colors, using split cakes, and proper hygiene. The skills...

$110
Su.   Oct 11th, 2pm
Beginner
(2)

Find out how to achieve your objectives in your own work in a workshop for painters of all skill levels, tailored to your individual needs, with plenty of one-on-one time with your instructor. Bring your project to class for a customized demonstration on how to problem-solve your particular issue, or bring an idea that you don’t know how to paint...

$99
Sa.   Oct 24th, 9:30am
Beginner
(70)

Students learn the basics of the color wheel and then paint a simple still life painting from observation in a casual atmosphere. BYOB at this session is welcome. This one time class can be taken as a way to try the studio or for just a fun afternoon.  Note: Kids under 13 must be accompanied by an adult

$60
W.   Sep 2nd, 6:30pm
Beginner
(3)
Wednesday September 2 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday September 4 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday September 5 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday September 6 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday September 9 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday September 11 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday September 12 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday September 13 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday September 16 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday September 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday September 19 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday September 20 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday September 23 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday September 25 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday September 26 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday September 27 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday September 30 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday October 2 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday October 3 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday October 4 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday October 7 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday October 9 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday October 10 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday October 11 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday October 14 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday October 16 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday October 17 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday October 18 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday October 21 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday October 23 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday October 24 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday October 25 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday October 28 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday October 30 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday October 31 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday November 1 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday November 4 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday November 6 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday November 7 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday November 8 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday November 11 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday November 13 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday November 14 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday November 15 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday November 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday November 20 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday November 21 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday November 22 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday November 25 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday November 27 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday November 28 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday November 29 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday December 2 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday December 4 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday December 5 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday December 6 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday December 9 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday December 11 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday December 12 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday December 13 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Wednesday December 16 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Friday December 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $60
Saturday December 19 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Sunday December 20 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $60
Close
Other Dates (64)

Discover how to use photographs of the figure as subject and inspiration in a contemporary painting course using oil or acrylic. You’ll be encouraged to develop your own ‘voice’ through a sustained, individualized studio practice. As you learn painting and design basics and how to find the poetic focus and essence of the pose, you’ll also explore...

$99
Sa.   Sep 12th, 9:30am
Beginner
(70)

This Intro to Watercolor workshop consists of acquiring basic watercolor skills and your application to different topics. This workshop is suitable for beginning students as well as those interested in a fun painting refresher. We will be covering skills such as brushwork and techniques like washes, along with some terrific ways to work with...

$40
Su.   Sep 27th, 11am
Beginner
(15)

Explore the fundamentals of the ancient art of Sumi-e (“ink picture”) painting, and discover how just a few simple strokes of the brush can express an idea. Enrich your knowledge of a different art technique with ancient and Eastern roots, and learn about the traditional art and culture of Japan. Please read:  Student will supply the following:...

$89
Sa.   Sep 19th, 10am
Beginner
(70)

Experience how it feels to be an artist. Let a gentle specialist in healing creators’ block guide you through step-by-step drawing, painting, and creativity exercises in a relaxing, supportive, fun atmosphere. Feel the incredible high of finding the secrets that awaken the art maker innate in us all! If you’re an absolute beginner—or someone...

$99
Sa.   Sep 19th, 1pm
All levels
(70)

Bunka, a form of Japanese embroidery, is the art of painting on fabric using a needle and thread. In this class students learn and practice different stitch techniques to create detailed pictures resembling delicately shades paintings. Unlike some other forms of embroidery, bunka is fragile and is usually presented as artwork rather than as clothing...

$25
Sa.   Sep 12th, 9am
Beginner
(2)
Saturday September 12 9am - 11am 5 Sessions $25
Saturday October 24 9am - 11am 5 Sessions $25
Close
Other Dates (2)

Come try your hand at a wonderful art form with subtle nuances and spontaneity, as well as brilliance and control. Learn traditional watercolor techniques through invaluable demonstrations that will give you a solid foundation. Watercolor is a medium that’s not as unforgiving as you might think, so come find out about some surprising tricks that...

$99
Su.   Sep 13th, 10am
Beginner
(70)
Sunday September 13 10am - 1pm 6 Sessions $99
Sunday October 25 10am - 1pm 6 Sessions $99
Close
Other Dates (2)

In this class we'll look at ways to bring strength to our painting, by incorporating drawing skills. We'll sketch out composition, edit out detail, getting down tonal values, and explore line, brushstroke, and use of colour. If you have any ideas you'd like to work on, please bring them in. We will work from still life and photos, and look at the drawings...

$265
Sa.   Sep 19th, 10am
All levels
Saturday September 19 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday September 26 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday October 3 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday October 10 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday October 17 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday October 24 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday October 31 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday November 7 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday November 14 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Saturday November 21 10am - 12pm 6 Sessions $265
Close
Other Dates (10)

Character Design 1 focuses on the basic fundamental principles of Character Design. Students will learn concept development and adapt final designs to production through rotation models for both traditional and CG modeling purposes, facial expression models, action attitude posing and numerous other aspects of professional Character Design including...

$495
T.   Sep 1st, 7:15pm
Beginner

The drawing students will start the class with basic drawing exercises along with explaining your drawing materials and how to use them to your advantage. We will a spend time drawing the basic forms from a still life set up using direct lighting to help you understand value. You will learn how to see these same basic forms when you draw more complex...

$240
Sa.   Sep 5th, 10am
Beginner
(5)
Saturday September 5 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $240
Saturday September 5 10am - 1pm 1 Session $75
Saturday September 12 10am - 1pm 1 Session $75
Saturday September 19 10am - 1pm 1 Session $75
Saturday September 26 10am - 1pm 1 Session $75
Close
Other Dates (5)
Need help finding a class? Contact us!
Need help? Contact us!