Here's $10 towards your first class. Join for free

Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Beginner Drawing Classes NYC

219 classes
Follow following this category
  • Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age
  • Date:
    Starts on
    Ends by
    Times:
    Days:
    Close
  • Skill Level:
    Close
  • Neighborhoods:
    Close
  • Price:
    $0 $1,000

    Currently viewing classes from:
    $0 to $1000

    Close

Beginner Drawing Classes Coming up in New York

Special School Offer!
10% Off The Art Studio NY Gift Cards! Learn More >

Taste it all in this drawing and painting class for beginners! Artistic expression in the form of painting and drawing expression is exciting, energizing and incredibly freeing! Discover your authentic inner-artist and your creative passion in this popular weekend beginner’s art class as you:Explore your creativity through painting, drawing and the...

$299
F.   Apr 3rd, 11am
All levels
(141)
Special School Offer!
10% Off Drawing New York Gift Cards! Learn More >

This class is for you if you are relatively new to drawing and want direction on how to proceed. This class is for beginners and for people who consider themselves beginners. The Class:We will begin with a short Q & A session where we answer some common questions: Do I begin with one tiny piece or do I try to get the whole image on the paper?...

$45
Sa.   Apr 4th, 6pm
Beginner
(67)
Saturday April 4 6pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $45
Saturday April 11 6pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $45
Saturday April 18 6pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $45
Saturday April 25 6pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $45
Close
Other Dates (4)
Be first to know about new beginner drawing classes

Add this topic and we'll let you know about new classes, trending topics and last minute discounts

These classes are structured around drawing and painting exercises to strengthen fundamentals. For beginners, it is a good introduction to basic skills, for more experienced students it is a chance to fortify their foundation and address weaknesses. There are individual critiques throughout. Note: Please bring drawing materials (pencil, paper) &...

$35
Th.   Apr 2nd, 9am
All levels
(15)
Thursday April 2 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday April 6 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday April 6 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday April 8 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday April 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday April 13 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday April 13 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday April 15 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday April 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday April 20 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday April 20 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday April 22 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday April 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday April 27 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday April 27 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday April 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday April 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday May 4 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday May 4 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday May 6 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday May 7 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday May 11 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday May 11 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday May 13 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday May 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday May 18 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday May 18 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday May 20 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday May 21 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday May 25 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday May 25 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday May 27 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday May 28 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 1 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 1 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday June 3 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday June 4 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 8 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 8 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday June 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday June 11 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 15 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 15 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday June 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday June 18 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 22 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 22 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday June 24 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday June 25 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday June 29 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday June 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday July 1 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday July 2 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday July 6 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday July 6 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday July 8 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday July 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday July 13 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday July 13 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday July 15 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday July 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday July 20 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday July 20 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday July 22 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday July 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday July 27 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday July 27 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday July 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday July 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday August 3 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday August 3 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday August 5 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday August 6 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday August 10 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday August 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday August 12 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday August 13 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday August 17 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday August 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday August 19 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday August 20 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday August 24 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday August 24 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday August 26 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday August 27 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday August 31 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday August 31 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday September 2 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 3 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 7 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 7 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday September 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 14 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Wednesday September 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 21 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 21 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Close
Other Dates (100)
Special School Offer!
10% Off The Art Studio NY Gift Cards! Learn More >

Can’t draw a straight line? No creative bone in your body? Everyone can draw, including you! In this 90-minute drawing class crash course, jump into the world of self-expression through drawing. In this encouraging and fear-free beginner’s drawing class, you will:Learn basic drawing techniques, including line, composition, gesture, and shadingExplore...

$29
F.   Apr 17th, 2pm
Beginner
(141)
Friday April 17 2pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $29
Friday May 15 3pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $29
Close
Other Dates (2)

Do you ever wish you could capture the details of a plant long after you've seen it? This intro class teaches you how to make realistic drawings of plants using a variety of techniques. Learn to draw a selection of plant parts, including branches, stems, leaves, and flowers, for pleasure or to expand your drawing skills.Recommended Textbooks:Botanical...

$229
W.   Apr 15th, 10am
Beginner
(34)
Wednesday April 15 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $229
Tuesday May 19 6pm - 9pm 4 Sessions $229
Close
Other Dates (2)

This class will cover fundamental aspects of the visual language of drawing including perspective, charcoal tonal drawing, mark making (line, hatching, cross-hatching, etc), still-life, portraiture, figure drawing with the live model and much more. Behind many great works of art, abstraction or realism, lies a strong drawing. Drawing is the bridge...

$250
T.   Jun 9th, 6:30pm
Beginner
(72)
Tuesday June 9 6:30pm - 9:30pm 5 Sessions $250
Tuesday September 1 6:30pm - 9:30pm 5 Sessions $250
Tuesday November 10 6:30pm - 9:30pm 5 Sessions $250
Close
Other Dates (3)

Using techniques of observation, sketching, and illumination, master the fine art of illustrating plant form and color with realistic results. Develop a beautiful notebook of frame-worthy illustrations using graphite and colored pencils. No experience necessary. Please bring lunch. Materials included. Materials List:Hand pencil sharpener or battery...

$359
M.T.W.   May 4th, 10am
All levels
(34)

This is a beginner pencil drawing course with emphasis on self-portrait, still life, and landscapes, as well as patternmaking for woodcarving designs. Skills developed in this course will give you a life-long pleasure in drawing. Come and join the fun. All carving materials and on-site use of tools and equipment will be provided. Free membership in...

$400
Sa.   Apr 4th, 10am
Beginner
(2)
Saturday April 4 10am - 12pm 4 Sessions $400
Tuesday April 28 9am - 11am 4 Sessions $400
Tuesday April 28 3pm - 5pm 4 Sessions $400
Tuesday April 28 6pm - 8pm 4 Sessions $400
Saturday May 2 10am - 12pm 4 Sessions $400
Close
Other Dates (5)

Develop skills to visually communicate what you see. Using elements of drawing and composition, students explore the versatility of pencil and charcoal to represent and express your ideas.Through demonstrations and observation, students explore concepts using line, gesture, shape, value and texture.

$360
M.   Apr 13th, 6:30pm
Beginner
(2)

Students will learn the skills and techniques for charcoal drawing. Ever wonder how those beautiful Michelangelo sketches are made? It's not genius or talent, but can be broken down into clear technique and skills. Pick out your favorite Michelangelo (or Leonardo if you prefer the anatomy) sketch and we can reproduce it together in this class.The class...

$30
F.   Apr 24th, 3pm
Beginner
(111)

In this beginners portrait class, learn specific techniques such as color mixing, color value, composition, proportions, glazing, brushwork, paint application and texture. Select the medium that excites you most, oil, acrylic, watercolor or mixed media, paint from live models, as well as figures and portraiture inspired by various subject matter, personal...

$395
Su.   Apr 19th, 2:30pm
Beginner
(1)
Sunday April 19 2:30pm - 4:30pm 6 Sessions $395
Wednesday April 22 11:30am - 1:30pm 6 Sessions $395
Close
Other Dates (2)
Special School Offer!
15% Off Bird River Studios Gift Cards! Learn More >

This class is for those students and artists who have taken a Beginners class and are looking for a structured setting to pursue their own projects, receive feedback, or draw from life. Shared class materials are on hand or you can bring in materials of your choice.

$210
W.   Apr 15th, 6:30pm
Intermediate
(13)
Special School Offer!
10% Off The Art Studio NY Gift Cards! Learn More >

Free live music and bar after you draw!Learn to draw in just two hours! Can’t draw a straight line? Used to love to draw (20 years ago!) and feel a bit rusty? Then this class is for you. Everyone can draw, including you! Tap into your inner-artist in this encouraging, non-judgmental drawing class as you:Relax and enjoy the magical medium of drawingGet...

$45
Sa.   Apr 11th, 12pm
Beginner
(141)
Saturday April 11 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $45
Saturday April 25 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $45
Saturday May 9 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $45
Close
Other Dates (3)
Special School Offer!
10% Off Drawing New York Gift Cards! Learn More >

Expect to learn while having fun, through demonstration, exercises, and individual instruction. Students will work from photographs provided for them, or can paint from their own photos.We are  so pleased to offer a five hour watercolor workshop with award-willing artist and teacher Dorrie Rifkin. Her work graces the current cover of Watercolor...

$95
Sa.   May 30th, 10am
All levels
(67)
Special School Offer!
10% Off The Art Studio NY Gift Cards! Learn More >

Grab your sweetie for a unique, creative date as you enjoy art, beauty, fun, and drawing at NYC's most famous museum! Everything is better with the one you love, including drawing classes. Everyone can draw, so tap into your inner-artists together in this encouraging, non-judgmental New York City drawing class as you:Relax as a couple and enjoy the...

$65
Sa.   Apr 11th, 3pm
Beginner
(141)
Saturday April 11 3pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Saturday April 18 3pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Saturday April 25 3pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Saturday May 9 3pm - 5pm 1 Session $65
Close
Other Dates (4)

Ever wonder how those beautiful Michelangelo sketches are made? It's not genius or talent, but specific techniques and skills. We'll start with some simple warm ups to get that hand-eye coordination flowing and then delve closely into human anatomy to work towards a very realistic figure.We'll be drawing from Michelangelo's beautiful sketches and the...

$30
Su.   May 10th, 12pm
All levels
(111)

Learn the basics on how to draw using step-by-step instructions. Techniques will be introduced such as hand and pencil mechanics, perspective & various amounts of progressive shading. Objective studies & still life will be acquired during the lesson

$255
T.   Apr 7th, 7pm
Beginner

AutoCAD is a suite of popular CAD (Computer Aided Design) software products for 2 and 3 dimensional design and drafting. Developed by Autodesk, the AutoCAD family of products has become the most widely used CAD software in the world. AutoCAD is a vector graphics drawing program, it uses entities such as lines, polylines, circles, arcs and text as the...

$1,245
M.T.W.Th.F.   Apr 20th, 9am
Beginner
(123)
Monday April 20 9am - 5pm 5 Sessions $1,245
Monday June 8 9am - 5pm 5 Sessions $1,245
Close
Other Dates (2)

This level 1 AutoCAD class is perfect for beginners or someone with limited experience using AutoCAD. Students will learn the fundamental commands that are used in the program. Students will learn to create drawings using a variety of shapes utilizing many of the tools and commands. Created by industry experts, students learn by doing actual drawings...

$449
M.T.W.   Apr 13th, 6pm
Beginner
(87)
Monday April 13 6pm - 10pm 9 Sessions $449
Monday April 20 8:30am - 4pm 3 Sessions $449
Tuesday May 26 6pm - 10pm 6 Sessions $449
Wednesday May 27 8:30am - 4pm 3 Sessions $449
Sunday May 31 10am - 6pm 3 Sessions $449
Sunday June 7 10am - 6pm 3 Sessions $449
Monday June 15 8:30am - 4pm 3 Sessions $449
Wednesday July 15 8:30am - 4pm 3 Sessions $449
Close
Other Dates (8)

This introductory course examines the historical uses of illustration. It explores the various types of illustration that may be employed based on communication needs, from simple outline drawings to storyboards and detailed technical illustrations. Class work is based on working from observation and resource materials. The history of illustration...

$365
Sa.   Apr 4th, 1pm
Beginner
(6)
Need help finding a class? Contact us!
Need help? Contact us!