Here's $10 towards your first class. Join for free

Discover Classes. Earn Rewards.

Beginner Drawing Classes NYC

253 classes
Follow following this category
  • Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age
  • Date:
    Starts on
    Ends by
    Times:
    Days:
    Close
  • Skill Level:
    Close
  • Neighborhoods:
    Close
  • Price:
    $0 $1,000

    Currently viewing classes from:
    $0 to $1000

    Close

Beginner Drawing Classes Coming up in New York

Special School Offer!
10% Off The Art Studio NY Gift Cards! Learn More >

Taste it all in this drawing and painting class for beginners! Artistic expression in the form of painting and drawing expression is exciting, energizing and incredibly freeing! Discover your authentic inner-artist and your creative passion in this popular weekend beginner’s art class as you: Explore your creativity through painting, drawing and...

$374
F.   Sep 18th, 11am
All levels
(209)
Friday September 18 11am - 1pm 8 Sessions $374
Sunday September 20 1pm - 3pm 8 Sessions $374
Close
Other Dates (2)
Special School Offer!
10% Off The Art Studio NY Gift Cards! Learn More >

Learn to draw in just two hours! Think you can’t draw a straight line? Longing to tap into your right brain? Join NYC's #1 Rated Art Class Studio in this fun and inspiring drawing class in Central Park, as you: Learn beginner's drawing techniques Create your own drawings while learning about: line, shading, composition, self-expression, and more...

$35
Sa.   Sep 26th, 12pm
All levels
(209)
Saturday September 26 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $35
Saturday October 3 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $35
Close
Other Dates (2)
Be first to know about new beginner drawing classes

Add this topic and we'll let you know about new classes, trending topics and last minute discounts

Special School Offer!
10% Off Drawing New York Gift Cards! Learn More >

Introduction to Figure Drawing for Beginners.  This four-hour session is designed to introduce beginners (and people who consider themselves beginners) to figure drawing.  The Session: This session will cover the basic theories artists use to draw the human figure.  We will work from a live model for the entire session. Introduction:...

$70
Sa.   Oct 3rd, 12:30pm
Beginner
(127)

Using nature as our inspiration, we will build on our basic drawing skills, working with a variety of materials such as colored pencils, pastel, and ink as well as colored and textured papers. Note: Bring a sketchbook or pad (approximately 11 by 14 inches) and 2B or HB pencil to the first class.

$232
Su.   Oct 11th, 10am
All levels
(48)

Drawing has been the foundation of art for many centuries, and the incredibly diverse and varied approaches continue to inspire much interest from students today. This course will introduce students to the basics of drawing and composition through a series of exercises meant to serve as a foundation for future study. Students of all levels will benefit...

$35
T.   Sep 8th, 9am
Beginner
(29)
Tuesday September 8 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday September 15 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 21 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday September 22 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 24 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 28 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday September 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 1 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday October 5 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday October 6 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 7 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 8 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday October 13 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 15 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday October 19 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday October 20 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 21 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 22 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday October 26 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday October 27 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 28 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 2 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday November 3 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday November 5 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday November 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday November 12 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday November 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday November 18 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday November 19 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday November 24 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday November 25 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday November 26 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday December 1 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 2 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday December 3 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday December 7 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday December 8 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday December 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday December 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday December 15 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday December 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday December 21 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday December 22 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday December 24 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday December 28 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Tuesday December 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday December 31 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Close
Other Dates (64)
Special School Offer!
10% Off The Art Studio NY Gift Cards! Learn More >

Can’t draw a straight line? No creative bone in your body? Everyone can draw, including you! In this 90-minute drawing class crash course, jump into the world of self-expression through drawing. In this encouraging and fear-free beginner’s drawing class, you will: Learn basic drawing techniques, including line, composition, gesture, and shading...

$19
W.   Sep 9th, 12pm
Beginner
(209)
Wednesday September 9 12pm - 1:30pm 1 Session $19
Friday September 11 2pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $29
Tuesday September 22 1pm - 2:30pm 1 Session $29
Friday October 23 2pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $29
Friday October 30 3pm - 4:30pm 1 Session $29
Friday November 6 2pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $29
Close
Other Dates (6)

Working from the live model, students will learn to draw the live model where they will aim for strong gesture and draftsmanship. Poses will be relatively short, to focus on capturing the movements and fundamental construction of the figure, and understanding the abstract rhythms that make the figure such an important and captivating subject. There...

$35
W.   Sep 9th, 1pm
All levels
(29)
Wednesday September 9 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 16 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 23 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 30 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 7 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 14 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 21 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 28 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday November 4 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday November 18 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday November 25 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 2 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 9 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 16 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 23 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 30 1pm - 4pm 1 Session $35
Close
Other Dates (16)

These classes are structured around drawing and painting exercises to strengthen fundamentals. For beginners, it is a good introduction to basic skills, for more experienced students it is a chance to fortify their foundation and address weaknesses. There are individual critiques throughout. Note: Please bring drawing materials (pencil, paper)...

$35
W.   Sep 9th, 9am
All levels
(29)
Wednesday September 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 14 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday September 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 21 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday September 21 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday September 24 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday September 28 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday September 28 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday September 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 1 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday October 5 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday October 5 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 7 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 8 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday October 12 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday October 12 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 15 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday October 19 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday October 19 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 21 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 22 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday October 26 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday October 26 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday October 28 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday October 29 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 2 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday November 2 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday November 5 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 9 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday November 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday November 12 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 16 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday November 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday November 18 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday November 19 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 23 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday November 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday November 25 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday November 26 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday November 30 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday November 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 2 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday December 3 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday December 7 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday December 7 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 9 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday December 10 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday December 14 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday December 14 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 16 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Thursday December 17 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday December 21 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday December 21 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 23 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Monday December 28 9am - 12pm 5 Sessions $140
Monday December 28 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Wednesday December 30 9am - 12pm 1 Session $35
Close
Other Dates (62)

This course is designed to give students a solid foundation in the fundamentals of drawing. The skills necessary to render a subject three-dimensionally will be taught through a variety of exercises using still life and eventually the model. Observational techniques, composition and different artistic approaches will be explored as students use a variety...

$523
W.   Sep 16th, 7pm
All levels
(50)
Wednesday September 16 7pm - 10pm 19 Sessions $523
Wednesday September 16 7pm - 10pm 8 Sessions $275
Wednesday November 11 7pm - 10pm 11 Sessions $275
Close
Other Dates (3)

This class will cover fundamental aspects of the visual language of drawing including perspective, charcoal tonal drawing, mark making (line, hatching, cross-hatching, etc), still-life, portraiture, figure drawing with the live model and much more. Behind many great works of art, abstraction or realism, lies a strong drawing. Drawing is the bridge...

$250
T.   Nov 10th, 6:30pm
Beginner
(110)

Do you ever wish you could capture the details of a plant long after you've seen it? This intro class teaches you how to make realistic drawings of plants using a variety of techniques. Learn to draw a selection of plant parts, including branches, stems, leaves, and flowers, for pleasure or to expand your drawing skills. Recommended Textbooks: Botanical...

$229
M.   Oct 26th, 6pm
Beginner
(75)
Monday October 26 6pm - 9pm 4 Sessions $229
Thursday February 11 10am - 1pm 4 Sessions $229
Close
Other Dates (2)

Develop skills to visually communicate what you see. Using elements of drawing and composition, students explore the versatility of pencil and charcoal to represent and express your ideas.Through demonstrations and observation, students explore concepts using line, gesture, shape, value and texture. Materials List: • Sketch Pad-...

$345
M.   Sep 28th, 6:30pm
Beginner
(15)

Beginning with drawing from the historic plaster casts in the Academy’s collection and transitioning to the live model, this course examines multiple drafting strategies for both long and short poses. Guided by lectures, weekly class demonstrations, and personalized demonstrations, students will create observational drawings while studying material...

$505
Sa.   Sep 12th, 10am
All levels
(11)

This is a beginning class in drawing and painting designed for those with little or no artistic training. Weekly exercises will train the student to master the foundation skills needed to continue to more advanced courses. Exercises include value scales, sighting, construction, and still life. Classes begin with demonstrations of the exercises followed...

$545
M.   Sep 14th, 6:30pm
Beginner
(11)

Unfolding age appropriate levels of fine art concepts, and skills at every lesson in a fun and exciting way! Lines, Shapes, Colors & MORE Please be honest about your child's skill level. Each class is for students at the appropriate skill level required to take the class.

$720
T.   Sep 8th, 3:30pm
Beginner
Need help finding a class? Contact us!
Need help? Contact us!